Lightroom Classic CC 2018 disregards preferences when updating/upgrading catalog.

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • (Edited)
Opening an old catolog with Lightroom Classic CC 2018, I'm confronted with the need to upgrade/update the catalog. A new name is suggested ("-2" appended to he original name) and the upgrade/update is performed OK.

However, during upgrading/updating the catalog all settings of the original catalog are lost. Instead Adobe's defaults for new catalogs are used.

I've set up all my LR catalogs (for each shoot I use a different catalog) to write all edits and changes to the XMP 'sidecar' files.
When the catalog is upgraded/updated, this setting is turned off.
After each upgraded/updated catalog I have to change the settings (again) to enable writing changes to the XMP files. This bugs me to no end.

A 'real' upgrade/update would 'honor' the settings of the original catalog, instead of using Adobe's own defaults for newly created catalogs.

Adobe, please fix this.
Photo of Victor Peters

Victor Peters

  • 16 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Ralf Bruechmann

Ralf Bruechmann

  • 27 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
Hi Victor,

did you check / try this ?
https://www.lightroomqueen.com/catalog-corruption-cause-prevention/

I think it's worth a try to isolate the error ...
Photo of Victor Peters

Victor Peters

  • 16 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
My catalog is NOT corrupted nor does it become corrupted during the migration/updating/upgrading proces when opening an old catalog in Lightroom Classic CC 2018. After the update/upgrade of the catalog all photos can be opened and edited and old (saved) edits are activated/applied to the controls when in Develop mode.

My point is, that when updating/upgrading an old catalog, when opening it in Lightroom Classic CC 2018, it seems the catalog is not really upgraded/updated, but instead a new catalog (with default settings that are identical than for newly created catalogues) is created and the images are then re-imported to this new catalog.

Instead I'd hope that my carefully chosen settings of the original catalog would be preserved when updating/upgrading an old catalog when opening it with Lightroom Classic CC 2018. This however is NOT the case.

Please Adobe, fix this.
(Edited)