Photoshop.com: What's the difference between public view and group share view?

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Removing Photoshop.com service category

I'd like to share my album with a small circle of friennds. How do I go about doing it? Should I set the view to public and give them my url? I suppose then anyone can look up my gallery and view the album, which is NOT what I want to do. Please advice.
Photo of Winn Hackett

Winn Hackett

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • confused.

Posted 7 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Brett N

Brett N, Official Rep

  • 2257 Posts
  • 108 Reply Likes
Official Response
A Public gallery does mean that it can be viewed by anyone. However, it's not really possible for strangers to simply stumble upon your albums. The URL's to your albums are long and complicated and can only be reached by the links you share.

There are two options for Album security: Private and Shared.
- Private means only you can see this album.
- Shared means that you and people who have the URL to this album (for example, people with whom you share this album) can see it.

A Group Album is somewhere in between. This is a shared album between multiple users of Photoshop.com. You invite others to collaborate on an album, each member being able to add, remove, edit, or otherwise make modifications. This is probably what you do not want.

You should simply share your album. Assuming those that you share with do not distribute the URL to still others, then your privacy will remain intact.