Lightroom: How do I undo an unintended deletion of images?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 8 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
This has happened several times now. I was making overall adjustments to a series of photos using Auto Sync. so I had many frames selected. I came across one frame I decided to delete. I clicked on that frame and hit the 'delete' key and selected delete from hard drive and viola! ALL my selected images were deleted !! There was no warning window and no Command-Z to retrieve. I had already reformatted my CF card so gone are my images. Any suggestions?
Photo of Carmine Picarello

Carmine Picarello

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 8 years ago

  • 1
Photo of John Cornicello

John Cornicello

  • 2 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I've done this sort of thing a few times, myself. The deleted images are sent to trash, so I've immediately opened my trash folder and copied the files back to their original folder and then imported them again. This does loose modifications, but I do at least get the images all back.
Photo of Carmine Picarello

Carmine Picarello

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Great, thanks. I don't intend to make that mistake again. If you and I aren't the only ones to have done that it would be great if there were the option to have a window popping up to ask you if you're sure you want to trash all the images. Any possibility of that?
Photo of Geoff Walker

Geoff Walker, Champion

  • 214 Posts
  • 43 Reply Likes
Carmine, what steps are you making to have this happen and on what system? On my Mac in the Develop Module (where Autosync is) if I hit the Delete key I get a warning box with the appropriate warnings. So it would be helpful to know how you got to do this.
Photo of Carmine Picarello

Carmine Picarello

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Geoff, I'm running an iMac i7 machine with 8 gigs of ram and OS10.6.7 and LR 3.4. As I mentioned I was making adjustments to a group of files using Autosync. (20 or more) items that I had flagged. Using cmd.-A to select them. I believe I was in the Develop Module. I just did a dry run and see that the window that comes up offering 'delete from disk' 'cancel' and 'remove' also mentions how many items are about to be deleted. So I guess the lesson is "Pay attention" to the fine print.
Thanks for your help!