Two Lightrooms, two Catalogs... how to "unify"?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Answered
After upgrading from Lightroom 3 to Lightroom 4 (currently at 4.1), I now have the following situation:
- Lightroom 3 (v.3.6; 64-bit) still on iMac hard drive and using Lightroom 3 catalog-3.lrcat
- Lightroom 4 (v.4.1; 64-bit) using Lightroom 3 catalog-3-2.lrcat
which is a bit confusing.
Questions:
1. can I simply remove LR3 without losing all the work I have done in LR3?
2. can I rename my LR4 catalog to reflect that I am now using LR4?
Photo of Les Cornwell

Les Cornwell

  • 105 Posts
  • 18 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Becky Sowada

Becky Sowada, Adobe Employee

  • 508 Posts
  • 105 Reply Likes
Official Response
1. You can remove Lightroom 3. Just don't delete your Lightroom 3 catalog file until you are sure you've merged it completely into your working Lightroom 4 catalog.

2. You can rename your catalog file (the one with the .lrcat extension). Be sure to quit Lightroom before doing this. You will also need to rename the previews file, or delete it and let Lightroom rebuild it the first time you open your renamed catalog.