total deletion of synchronized images ?

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Answered
Hello all
when I stop the synchronisation of a collection between desktop and mobile, the images disappear from the list of synchronized album on my mobile but the images remain in "all photos".
how can I avoid to delete them in a second time ?
Thanks
Photo of Bruno Beucher

Bruno Beucher

  • 15 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Matt Dillon

Matt Dillon

  • 27 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
If you're DELETING the collection, uncheck the box that says "Leave photos in All Synced Photographs so that they can still be available on your other connected devices."





If you're just un-syncing the collection and none of the photos are in any other collections the only way I have found is to:


•Select all of the photos in the collection,

•Un-sync the collection,

•Switch to *All Synced Photographs* under the *Catalog* section,

•Right click on one of the selected photos and click *Remove from All Synced Photographs*,


Cumbersome I know and I was suprised/annoyed when I first discovered this. Also feels like exactly the "double delete" you said you are having to do but this makes sure you get them all. Also, if you don't do it in that order (you remove from All Synced Photographs before un-syncing the collection) it will remove all the selected photos from the collection and leave it empty. The only thing I can figure is it leaves them uploaded in case they are in other collections or Adobe wants you to migrate to the cloud and buy more space. Both are speculation.








I have also discovered synced photos deleted within Lightroom Mobile are NOT deleted from Lightroom Classic. That was a real bummer when I found that out. I flag all the images plus move them to a separate collection within LR Mobile labeled *Remove From CC*. In Lightroom Classic I then go to *All Photographs* under the *Catalog* section and filter flagged photos and delete any I find.


I don't know why Adobe had to make it so cumbersome unless they REALLY want us to all switch to a cloud based workflow
(Edited)
Photo of Antoine Hlmn

Antoine Hlmn

  • 691 Posts
  • 181 Reply Likes
"I don't know why Adobe had to make it so cumbersome unless they REALLY want us to all switch to a cloud based workflow"

--> Exactly!
Photo of Bruno Beucher

Bruno Beucher

  • 15 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Very good tip Thanks
in general I do not delete any collection, just want to unsync
I just tried as you explain and thats ok even if not really intuitive
But it works thats the most important
I just changed my account from 100go to 20go so that i now have to manage my space
Thanks again
Photo of Antoine Hlmn

Antoine Hlmn

  • 693 Posts
  • 181 Reply Likes
It's indeed a very cumbersome process. The first time I discovered "unsyncing" a colleciton in LR did not "uncync it" (= remove the images) I just removed everything and resynced what I wanted. Huge loss of time and bandwith for both Adobe and I.

That's exactly what I mean by Adobe's attidude of "You're using it wrong"... No, it's badly designed, imho.