Lightroom Classic: The "before" view shows old processed version of image

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
When using a DNG file which has been processed in another Lightroom catalogue, the "before" view always reverts to the processed version of the image, even after applying a reset to the image.
Photo of Steve Rydz

Steve Rydz

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 1
Photo of Robert Somrak

Robert Somrak, Champion

  • 723 Posts
  • 226 Reply Likes
The Before view contains the edits when the DNG is imported.  Reset also just resets to the imported DNG settings.  To get to the Adobe Defaults hold the SHIFT key down to change the RESET button to RESET (Adobe).  After doing a RESET (Adobe) you can go into Before/After View and use the third button on the toolbar with the two rectangles and double arrows to exchange the before and after view settings.  This only works if you didn't make any changes after import.  If you did make edits after import you have to add a few more steps to retain your edits.
(Edited)
Photo of Steve Rydz

Steve Rydz

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you. I tried this and it works. I thought I was going mad :)