Lightroom 4.1: Synchronize folder erases my RAW data

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • (Edited)
Hi, I recently switch to LR 4.1 on my Macbook (Mountain Lion) and i face a really annoying problem...

When I update a folder in the finder (add or remove photos) and I want them to be imported in LR, I use Synchronize Folder on the specific folder in LR folder view.

This action seems to delete all the photos of the folder, to re-import them and to create a ghost folder at the root of the view.

For example, I add in the finder two photos named A.cr2 and B.cr2 in the folder "portraits" in which there are already a few developed photos (Let's say 3). I open LR, right-click on the folder "portraits" and select "Sync Folder".

Then, the dialog box says LR will delete 3 photos (the ones already imported) and will add 5 photos (the 3 initial ones and the 2 new). If I accept, the original folder in the folders view will show a number of photos of 0 and a folder "portraits" will be created at the root of the view. In the finder, the folder is at the right location. When I try to move the ghost folder in the right place in LR, I got an error "folder already existing".

The thing really annoying is that in the ghost folder, ALL the settings of my original RAW photos are reseted. As if I just imported the 5 photos from my camera.

Can you help me please ?
Thanks
Photo of Antoine Robiez

Antoine Robiez

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Brett N

Brett N, Official Rep

  • 2257 Posts
  • 108 Reply Likes
We often see permission and preference issues after a major Mac OSX update. The behavior you report shouldn't happen (it is not happening for me, but I'm not on 10.8 yet).

Try these two things:
1. Recreate Lightroom's preferences.
2. Repair the disk permissions.

They try the folder sync again.
Photo of Antoine Robiez

Antoine Robiez

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I deleted lightroom's preferences and I used Onyx to repair permissions, but i still face the problem...

Maybe I could try to delete LR's catalog ? Will this erase my developments ?

BTW thank you for the answer.
Photo of Brett N

Brett N, Official Rep

  • 2257 Posts
  • 108 Reply Likes
The catalog is where your develop settings are stored.

Don't delete the catalog, just try creating a new one (you can have as many catalogs as you like and switch between them at any time).