Synced Classic to CC edited TIF/PSD files need removed, re-uploaded

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 week ago
Working in a synced collection, creating a new file in Photoshop and saving, it will automatically be uploaded to CC. Working on that photo again the saved file doesn't get re-uploaded to CC to replace the old one. I have to manually go to All Synced Photographs and remove it, which removes it from the collection, find the file in Classic and put it back in the collection to be uploaded again.

I realize that I could just work outside the collection to begin with but the collection is where my photos are separated out into and where I would like to work. I've been working in collections for years and it is my preferred method. Is there a setting that will do this re-uploading automatically?
Photo of Matt Dillon

Matt Dillon

  • 23 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
  • Curious

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Sreenivas Ramaswamy

Sreenivas Ramaswamy, Employee

  • 52 Posts
  • 21 Reply Likes
Hi Matt,

The file should get automatically uploaded to CC. It might take some time as it needs to upload the whole file. Eventually it might stop uploading also if the file size increases beyond 250MB.

Classic uploads smart previews for normal RAW files but uploads the actual files for JPEG/TIFF and PSD files. But there is a hard limit of 250MB for the file size.

Let us know if the file is not getting uploaded even after sufficient time.

Thanks

Photo of Matt Dillon

Matt Dillon

  • 23 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Hi Sreenivas,

The initial file upload works just fine. I'm talking about later on if I decide to do more edits or I wasn't finished in the first place, when I come back to the file and open it *again* in Photoshop, after saving my changes, the file with the new changes doesn't get uploaded. Say I added a few curves and content aware fill to remove my pesky neighbor's dog from a photo, those changes won't appear on a file that has already been uploaded. I have never had Lightroom update the actual files that have been uploaded. Any catalog edit changes work just fine.

Like I said, I work from the collections so when I click "Edit in Photoshop" and save it, it will automatically save it back to Lightroom and into the original collection. If the collection happens to be synced the file will get uploaded. Future changes to the file made outside Lightroom will not be uploaded even if I send that file back to Photoshop from Lightroom. I'd like Lightroom to automatically upload the new (changed) file if I send it to an external editor from withing Lightroom.

Thanks!
Photo of Sreenivas Ramaswamy

Sreenivas Ramaswamy, Employee

  • 52 Posts
  • 21 Reply Likes
Hi,

I tried the workflow and it is working as expected for me. When I send the file from within Lightroom or edit the file directly on the disk in both cases the sync is happening as expected.

I recorded a small video to show how it is happening on my system. Pardon my crude edits. If this is not happening for you may be we can sync up off line and see why it is not working.

https://youtu.be/0NYbsvhFxbI
Photo of Matt Dillon

Matt Dillon

  • 23 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
That's exactly what I wanted to happen. I just went to try it and it seems to be working now. In the past I would wait several minutes and this would nothing so I am not sure what changed to make it happen now. Thanks for your time :-)