Lightroom? Sync Settings- Oops, now images are changed....forever?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • (Edited)
I somehow accidently hit sync settings right before exporting a file. Problem is these are the images I spent hours editing and were my "print" folder. Is there a way to unsync images afer exporting them so all my work isn't lost? Please help.
Photo of Chrisi Robinson

Chrisi Robinson

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Steve Sprengel

Steve Sprengel, Champion

  • 2611 Posts
  • 333 Reply Likes
You should be able to go back a few steps in History for each of the images. If you've done nothing since the Sync, this would be as easy as one Undo to reverse the Sync Settings for all the images, but it might be as tedious as going to each image and clicking down in History of each one just before the Sync Settings step.
Photo of Chrisi Robinson

Chrisi Robinson

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Replied below. Thanks.
Photo of Chrisi Robinson

Chrisi Robinson

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Well, that's what I thought as well Steve, but images were exported immediately after. Can't seem to get my image the way it was. On a side note, I did back up images to hard drive BEFORE sync settings was selected. I just found my back up file and opened it in lightroom, all my images were there and the way I wanted them, then without doing anything I watched as each one from left to right began to change to black and white and cropped (which is what I assume was the selected format in which they were all accidently synced. So, I have prefectly edited images with a logo on them, and a folder without logo that is synced so that they appear to be unusable. Any more suggestions?
Photo of Chrisi Robinson

Chrisi Robinson

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Also, I have all the original files. Do I have to start over? Client has already ordered from edited images, so I would have to rework everything as it was presented to client. (All of these images have my logo watermarked on them so if I was to simply import back into Lightroom, there would be no way to rid the watermark. I am hoping I am wrong.
Photo of Steve Sprengel

Steve Sprengel, Champion

  • 2611 Posts
  • 333 Reply Likes
Lightroom holds the adjustments for each image in its catalog database, so resetting things doesn't involve copying backup images over master images.

It sounds like you've done too much to just Undo all of them with one operation, but you can still go to each one, look in the history, and click back down to before the Sync Settings step. Do you even understand what I am saying when I suggest this?

Doing an Export might be enough to make LR forget about what Undo can reverse in one step, but you should still be able to go to each image's History in the lefthand area in Develop and click down into those steps.

One thing you might have done that would be a problem would be to have Exported JPGs over the top of your master images--the ones you originally imported into LR, rather than to a separate subfolder like you should have done. This would have nothing to do with Syncing settings, though, so I hope this isn't what you're telling me you did.
Photo of Chrisi Robinson

Chrisi Robinson

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Yes I undertand how what you are saying when talking about undo-ing history. I think this whole mess is a glitch! I just launched lightroom again and everything was there just as it had been with no sight of "sync settings" in history. Isn't that the strangest thing? I am re exporting all my images (without watermark) so I can print. I have never had lightroom do that to me before. Seems problem fixed itself.

Steve, I sure appreciate your time! I was beginning to stress a bit.