Lightroom Classic to CC: Sync Problems

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • (Edited)
Unbelievable. I'm trying to sync a collection I made in LR Classic CC with LRCC but it just deleted all the photos in the collection. They now appear nowhere on the LRCC or LR Classic CC collection anymore. I've used LR since 1.0 and this has never happened. All the work I put into making this collection...

I'm livid. Spending so much time dicking around with this software and on this forum when I should be working. Can't anything go right for this cursed software (and the users who pay for it)?
Photo of jbedford

jbedford

  • 111 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
  • let down. again.

Posted 3 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Barry Young

Barry Young, Director of Engineering, Lightroom products

  • 54 Posts
  • 50 Reply Likes
Do the images appear in http://lightroom.adobe.com ? 
Photo of jbedford

jbedford

  • 111 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Unfortunately not...
Photo of Barry Young

Barry Young, Director of Engineering, Lightroom products

  • 54 Posts
  • 50 Reply Likes
Can you share your log file from LrCC?

1) CMD + , to open preferences
2) Hold down Alt/Option and click Diagnostic Log
3) Please send to byoung @ adobe.com
Photo of jbedford

jbedford

  • 111 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
done
Photo of Barry Young

Barry Young, Director of Engineering, Lightroom products

  • 54 Posts
  • 50 Reply Likes
Thank you. We are investigating. 
Photo of Julie Kmoch

Julie Kmoch, Sr. Development Manager

  • 99 Posts
  • 34 Reply Likes
What version of Lr Classic are you running? Even if they were removed from the cloud, the original files should still exist in your Classic catalog.
Photo of jbedford

jbedford

  • 111 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
I'm using the latest version of Classic. The photos are still in the catalog I think, but not in the collection that I was working on. 
Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 1217 Posts
  • 491 Reply Likes
You think? If the images are still in the catalog, what stops you from adding them to the collection again? I have never seen that Lightroom removes images from a collection all by itself. I have seen people doing that by mistake. All it takes is hitting the delete key by mistake, so this can happen to anyone.
(Edited)
Photo of Julie Kmoch

Julie Kmoch, Sr. Development Manager

  • 99 Posts
  • 34 Reply Likes
jbedford, that is our hunch too at this point. We can see that the photos were deleted from LrCC, but the only code path that leads to that happening is hitting the delete key (or choosing it from a menu).
Photo of jbedford

jbedford

  • 111 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
I had added images to LRCC which weren't already tied to a LRClassic catalog. When I simply wanted to add images from an existing LRClassic catalog to these independent photos already living in LRCC (creative cloud), LRClassic began to import these independent images from LRCC  into my LRClassic catalog. This was half expected, but unwanted as this catalog's subject is different than the independent images. I stopped the sync halfway and decided to then simply delete the photos in LRCC and start fresh. At some point around this time, I clicked the little 'sync' button that appeared beside the LRClassic (is there a universal abbreviation yet?) Collection that I had decided was more important in LRCC. Upon this choice, my Collection appeared to be syncing but when I returned to LRClassic, the photos were no longer in their original collection (empty), nor anywhere on LRCC. 

Did that all make sense? 

To Johan's question, the photos are still in their original folders (presumably) in LRClassic but as there were about 14000 images in there already, going back to search for the photos will take a lot of time. (still probably less time than troubleshooting this issue, but it's for the greater good I hope).
Photo of Julie Kmoch

Julie Kmoch, Sr. Development Manager

  • 99 Posts
  • 34 Reply Likes
If I'm understanding correctly, this sounds like it's working as we would expect it to. When you deleted the photos from LrCC, we read that as a signal that you don't want those photos in that collection. A synced collection in LrClassic has to mirror what's in the cloud, so if what you see in LrCC is an empty collection, we'd expect the same synced collection in LrClassic to be empty, too (once syncing is completed). Both additions and deletions get synced. Does that seem to fit what you're seeing?
(Edited)
Photo of jbedford

jbedford

  • 111 Posts
  • 28 Reply Likes
Hi Julie,

It was only after I deleted the photos that resided in LRCC that I selected my LRClassic collection to sync via the little sync button beside the collection. Once I hit the little button, the images in that collection disappeared one by one rather quickly. They didn't show up in LRCC either. It's like hitting the sync button just made them disappear. Do you see this in the log file I sent?
Photo of Julie Kmoch

Julie Kmoch, Sr. Development Manager

  • 99 Posts
  • 34 Reply Likes
Unfortunately that log file doesn't capture that level of detail. I'm having a hard time following which photos were in which catalog and when. For the sake of the story, let's pretend you added HOLIDAY photos to LrCC and an existing collection of GARDEN photos in Lr Classic. My understanding is that the sequence went like this:

1. You added HOLIDAY images to LrCC which synced to the cloud
2. Sync was enabled in LrClassic, pulling down HOLIDAY photos AND syncing up some of the GARDEN photos.
3. Stopped the sync halfway - now there's a mix of HOLIDAY and GARDEN photos in the cloud.
4. Deleted (all?) the photos in LrCC
5. Clicked the 'sync' button in Classic.

If all the photos in LrCC got deleted, some of those GARDEN photos synced up from Classic in step 2 would also get flagged for deletion. Does this seem plausible? Did you ever see the photos from your Classic catalog show up in LrCC before you deleted files in step 4?