Sync issue

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 months ago
Here is my issue, I hope someone will be able to help me out...

This is what I used to do:
* Import my raw pictures onto my iPad and sync those files back to LR Classic.
* This pictures got synced and imported in LR classic. I "just" had to put them in the right folders since LR only syncs Collections. Bummer but I could live with it.
* Once approaching the 20 Go limit, I would then, IN Lr Classic, remove the collections "From LR Mobile". If I'm right, this would delete the Raw file in the cloud.
* I would sync the smart preview "back" from classic to mobile. (I don't remember if I used to create the to sync collection from a folder (on HDD) or if I copied the collection from the "From LR Mobile sub collections. --> this is maybe important, although it it is totally unclear.

Today, I tried to do this but nothing got removed from the cloud. (Why? I gave Lr plenty of time to sync and I have a fast ADSL connection). So I decided to remove everything from the cloud and to start over again. I unchecked EVERYTHING to be synced BUT I still have over 15k pictures synced (wtf?)


Does someone has any idea of what's going on?
Photo of Antoine Hlmn

Antoine Hlmn

  • 273 Posts
  • 78 Reply Likes
  • I'm going to cancel my subscription

Posted 7 months ago

  • 1
Photo of howardberliner

howardberliner

  • 8 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Delete from the All Synced Photographs. I believe you will get a pop-up warning. Respond and the photos will be deleted from the cloud; however, they will still be in Lightroom. This should resolve your issue.
Photo of Antoine Hlmn

Antoine Hlmn

  • 272 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
Wtf? This is an indication panel, not something "to mess with"?
Why would there still be photos as I unchecked every collection to sync? This makes no sens (as a user interface, I mean)
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 295 Posts
  • 98 Reply Likes
Because photos don't have to be in a collection to be synced, so unsyncing a collection merely removes those images from the equivalent album in LRCC. This is clearly explained in the dialog that you get when you try to unsync a collection (unless you have previously ticked the "Don't show again" box). Removing from the All Synced Photographs is the correct way to manage removals from the Cloud using LR Classic.

Photo of Arjun Haarith

Arjun Haarith, Employee

  • 93 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
Hi Antoine, 

If you just unsync a collection, it means that the collection is no longer present in the cloud. 
However, your photos (those present in 'All synced photographs") are still in the cloud.
If you want them to be removed from cloud, then you have to remove them from "All synced photographs" in classic .

FYI,
Just unsyncing a collection does not remove the photos from cloud. Also, you can sync an image without creating a collection as well.

Thanks,
Arjun
(Edited)
Photo of Arjun Haarith

Arjun Haarith, Employee

  • 93 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
You can delete it from any of the clients.

1) If you are deleting from Classic,
a) then delete the images from "All synced Photographs".
or
b) If you want to delete a synced Collection in Classic, then make sure to uncheck the box "Leave photos ... " after clicking on 'Delete' on the synced collection.
(So that the photos are deleted from Cloud as well.) FYI, if the box is checked, only the collection is deleted, but the photos are still synced in cloud.

2) In LrMobile
a) Alternatively you can delete the images from LrMobile as well, by going inside a collection and then manually delete it. 
or
b) Remove them from "All photos"
(Edited)
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 295 Posts
  • 98 Reply Likes
Arjun, the problem with using 1b) (delete the collection from Classic and uncheck the "Leave photos in All Synced Photographs" option) is that it doesn't cover the issue where some of the images in the collection being deleted are also in other synced collections. In my testing of that situation, any such images that are in other synced collections will NOT be deleted from ASP or the Cloud (and frankly, nor would I expect them to be!). If I'm right, that message could use a little extra work to make it more clear.
Photo of Arjun Haarith

Arjun Haarith, Employee

  • 93 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
Hi Jim,

Yes thats the behaviour. If it is part of some other synced collection, then we cannot delete those images as a result of deleting some other collection.
In the delete dialog box, we show the message "These photos will remain in your catalog and may still be referenced in other collections" 
Do you want us to improvise the message ?

Thanks,
Arjun
Photo of Antoine Hlmn

Antoine Hlmn

  • 272 Posts
  • 77 Reply Likes
So for what I understand, you firstly have to delete the pictures form INSIDE the collection BEFORE deleting the (now empty) collection. But then if you have deleted the collection, you just end up with a bunch of totally unsorted pictures, which is a total nonsense in LR. (especially since there is no filter for RAW <-> smar preview in LR mobile)

So the question is: WHY this behavior? In what particular case do you whish to keep the unsorted pictures if you have deleted or unsynced a collection?

Lastly, I understand the need to have an "all pictures" section (like in LR classic), it's handy to apply filters (even if they are limited), for example. But I would NEVER use that section to add, remove or browse pictures. Or at least not expect it to be the default way of working :o
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 295 Posts
  • 98 Reply Likes
Arjun,

This is the message in full when you attempt to delete a synced collection in LR Classic:



The first part of that message really relates to what happens in LR Classic, i.e. images in this collection are not removed from the catalog, and may still be in other collections (synced or otherwise).

The second part details what will happen to the collection (album) in the LRCC ecosystem, i.e. it will be removed from that ecosystem and all LRCC clients. No problem with that, except it makes no reference to the images in that collection. If you follow the line that you have taken when simply unsyncing a synced collection, no images will be deleted from the ecosystem, they will still appear in All Photos and any other album that they were assigned to.

However, you have chosen a slightly different path, as evidenced by the check-box option. If checked, the user should expect that the images are retained in the ecosystem, either just in All Photos or also in other albums. But, if you uncheck that option, the user could be entitled to believe that the images will NOT be retained in ASP, thus will be removed completely from the ecosystem and all LRCC clients. All well and good, except that it makes no mention of the fact that even if that option is unchecked, any images in the deleted synced collection which are also in any other synced collections will NOT be deleted from the ecosystem.

To be honest, I don't really understand why you have a different option for synced collections, dependent upon whether you are simply unsyncing it (all images will remain in ASP and the cloud) or deleting it (option to use the same behaviour of keeping all images in ASP and the cloud, OR to remove them from the ASP and the cloud, but only if they're not in another synced collection). Just seems needlessly inconsistent.