Lightroom Classic: Skips to end of Collection after Undo remove from Collection

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • (Edited)
I have run into a very reproducible bug in the latest version of Lightroom Classic (7.3.1) that I run into constantly while working. While in either the Loupe or the Develop modules, if I remove a photo from the collection and then undo that removal, moving to the next photo skips to the end of the collection instead of the next photo. This is particularly annoying when the collection has a few thousand photos in it and I have to seek back to find my place again.

The directions below use keyboard shortcuts but I have confirmed it using menu options as well.

Pre-req:
A collection of photos (as few as 3 photos will work, but it is more obvious with 30ish) set as the target collection.

  1. Select the collection and view it in the Grid module.
  2. View one of the early photos in Loupe or Develop.
  3. Type 'B' to remove the photo from the Collection. The view will automatically advance to the next photo.
  4. Ctrl-Z (I have only tested on Windows, no idea if the same applies on Mac OS). This will return the view to the original photo that had been removed.
  5. Type the right arrow key to advance to the next photo. At this point, the view will actually be the last photo in the collection instead of the next photo.


As a possible hint to the actually issue, and as a work around from anyone else seeing this, if you hit Ctrl-Z after you have progressed to the wrong photo it goes back to the originally deleted photo and shows a notification message of "Undo Selection" instead of "Undo Go to Next Photo" like it normally would. The right arrow key will then work by going to the next photo.
Photo of Jonathan Goforth

Jonathan Goforth

  • 10 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Sunil Bhaskaran

Sunil Bhaskaran, Official Rep

  • 348 Posts
  • 120 Reply Likes
Jonathan,
In step 3, by typing B, the image will get added to the quick collection.
Image would be retained in the selected collection.
Did you delete the image from collection?
Even in that case, I couldn't reproduce the issue.

Thanks,
Sunil
Photo of Jonathan Goforth

Jonathan Goforth

  • 10 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
Your response indicates to me that you didn't have the listed pre-reqs setup and/or follow Step 1. Let me explain the process I am following to hopefully make it more obvious what is happening.

I shoot a 2-3 hour production which results in approximately 2000 photographs. I import the photos and create an empty collection to hold the set of good photographs that I will later distribute. I set that empty collection as the "Target Collection" which changes the behavior of the "B" key to add/remove photos from that collection. I step through my original photos hitting B whenever I see a photo I want to include. Once I have gone through all of the photos I typically have around 800 photos in the target collection. My target is around 400 so I need to further refine the list. I switch over to the Target Collection so now I am working through the target collection. At this point I am doing a mixing of editing photos and removing ones that I no longer want to include. Since I am going through only photos that are already in the collection, every time I hit the "B" key it will remove a photo. (as an aside, I have tested and confirmed I can recreate this using the delete key as well). For various reasons, I will fairly regularly remove a photo, go to the next photo, and then realize I want that original photo back so I will undo the remove from collection which causes this problem. This worked fine until the most recent update.