Lightroom CC: Share a selection of images from an album

  • 4
  • Idea
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Implemented
  • (Edited)
Hello,

In the current version, we can only share an entire album, but the real use case is more about sharing a selection of images from an album. Currently to achieve this, we have to create a second album with the selection and share it.

It could be more efficient if we had an option on the "Share an album" feature to define the selection, for example based on "Selected" mark (my favourite), the image rate or even keyword.

Hope this will be add in the next release.
Best regards.
Photo of Bruno Lhéritier

Bruno Lhéritier

  • 18 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 4
Photo of John Kars

John Kars

  • 18 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
I was thinking about this option today. I note you posted the idea 10 months ago, and this elementary options is still not there...
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4914 Posts
  • 1913 Reply Likes
I have good news for you... it's been available for the last couple of months! Select the photos in Grid view, right-click > Share to Web. It creates an ad-hoc/temporary album of just those photos and shares them. These special albums show up in the Sharing tab, but not the main albums list.

Or if you're sharing an existing album, you can show just the flagged ones or ones with a specific star rating.
(Edited)
Photo of Bruno Lhéritier

Bruno Lhéritier

  • 18 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Indeed, I had noticed that a few weeks ago.

However, this feature is not quite well designed, because as soon as you select the "share to web" command in the contextual menu, Lightroom publishes your image collection right away, either based on your current selection or an entire album (same problem when you activate the command from an album). This publishing processing is performed while Lightroom provides you the URL, and before you have the ability to choose some options in the sharing window. Too bad, because if you change filters or decide to add or change some sharing options (show metadata, allow download, ...), the publishing have to be process again.

The button at the bottom of the "Sharing" window should be "Publish" intead of "Continue", actually to start the publishing operation only when the user decide it. And furthermore, the way Lightroom manages the sharing process do not let the user to cancel its publishing.

Nevertheless, thanks a lot to the dev team for adding this feature, but I hope a new update will change this behaviour soon.
(Edited)
Photo of John Kars

John Kars

  • 18 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Thank you, Victoria. I found these options in Lr CC. I wish I could do also do that from Lr Classic CC.