Lightroom: Can I remove files from Lightroom after publishing to Flickr?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • (Edited)
I am confused why photos uploaded to Flickr or any other publishing site are still linked to lightroom after uploading them, since they are physically stored on the site. I believe it would be helpful if I could remove photos from Lightroom without removing them from the publishing site, since I don't need them cluttering my Lightroom library after I've uploaded them.
Photo of Garett Nelson

Garett Nelson

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated, confused

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of John R. Ellis

John R. Ellis, Champion

  • 3378 Posts
  • 849 Reply Likes
When you publish a collection to Flickr, the Lightroom collection remains linked to the set in Flickr, so that if you add, remove, or edit photos in Lightroom, the changes get pushed to Flickr when you click Publish. Many people appreciate that feature.

If you don't want changes to the publish collection (e.g. deleted photos) to get pushed to Flickr, simply avoid clicking Publish when you have the publish collection selected. Alternatively, in the Publish Services panel, right-click the publish collection and select Delete. This will delete the collection (but not its photos) from your Lightroom catalog, and you will be asked whether you want to keep the photos on Flickr (you do). At that point, the link between your catalog and that Flickr set has been removed and there's no way changes made in Lightroom will affect the pics in Flickr.
Photo of Kerry

Kerry

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi John,

Deleting the publish collection does delete the album from Flickr, for what it's worth, so the pictures become free-floating. (Which I just learned the hard way. Oh well...)