Elements 13: Organizer forgets which images have already been selected when coming back from full screen view

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • (Edited)
PSE13 Organizer always forgets my selections (which images I have selected) when I go out of full screen view (F11), thus making the organizer completely useless! Imagine this: I carefully select 5 images out of hundreds to view them full screen to decide which I use for what. When I get out of full screen I have to search those images again out of all those hundreds, since PSE forgot all about my selection!
Photo of hp deutsch

hp deutsch

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 4 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Michel BRETECHER

Michel BRETECHER, Champion

  • 1085 Posts
  • 227 Reply Likes
This is a known behaviour of the organizer. The Full view 'F11' mode is independent from the organization in the main view of the organizer. You'll find a number of posts about this.
The fact is that there are two answers to that behaviour:
- 1) Work from a temporary album. You'll find where you left easily.
- 2) Do like me: don't use the Full view to compare images. Open your files in the editor, and if you have set your preferences to allow floating windows, you have a much more flexible and powerful environment. Give it a try.

(That said, I agree this would be a welcome feature).
Photo of hp deutsch

hp deutsch

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
You say: "The Full view 'F11' mode is independent from the organization in the main view of the organizer." Well... unfortunately... it's not. If it would be, it would leave the main view untouched. But it doesn't! Quite the contrary: It completely DESTROYS the main view! Not only does it destroy the selections, it completely forgets the view, i.e. where you have been within your photos. It just jumps back to the top of all your pictures and you have to scroll down again to where you have been before!

So: Using full view is effectively like completely closing Organizer. And going out of full view is like automatically opening the Organizer fresh, i.e. you've lost completely where you have been before. That is the most primitive way of programming and an impudence of the developers!

Also, I can see that you are agreeing with me that this does indeed make the full view completely useless. Simply because you are not using it! Instead you are forced to do some workarounds. Yeah. I have workarounds myself (like using other software). That is not the point.

The point is, that this is clearly an oversight of the developers: Why implement a full view mode in a way which makes it completely useless? And this oversight is slowing down the workflow and efficiency of thousands of users. How such a thing can survive until Version 13 is really beyond me....
Photo of Michel BRETECHER

Michel BRETECHER, Champion

  • 1085 Posts
  • 227 Reply Likes
You say:
'Also, I can see that you are agreeing with me that this does indeed make the full view completely useless'
Yes, it was not meant for this purpose, so 'useless for that purpose'. Ok.
Completely useless ? No, its purpose is to enable quick slideshows.
We completely differ on which workflow is 'normal', and which is a 'workaround'. I do consider the full use of the editor with floating windows and the organizer with 'albums' is the 'pro' way of editing rapidly and efficiently.
I also consider that only a tiny minority of organizer users use the full view as a normal browsing method. No statistics on that point, but if I suggested posting in this forum and added my vote to your post, that's because I don't consider this as an 'overlook', but as a possible opportunity to make the organizer more flexible and to please more users.
Waiting to see if other users will add their votes.
Photo of Shorty

Shorty

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I fully agree with hp deutsch. This feels like an oversight. F11 and F12 offers convenient judging, comparing, zooming etc for evaluation of photos. This is part of organizing, not part of editing. When viewing an image full screen you most definitely expect to be able to return to where you were. Important bug that will make me eventually change to other software if necessary.