Photoshop: CC reports error (fatal requiring a force quit) when trying to split a video clip

  • 5
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
I have an outstanding case with Adobe technical support (very poor support).I append the case history to this summary:
However to précis the problem. Since subscribing to PS CC I have been unable to split a video clip (with the scissors tool), when I try to do this I get a fatal error (ie PS freezes) by repeatedly clicking the OK in the error dialog the clip eventually splits but the error remains and I have to force quit out of PS.
At Adobe's suggestion I have removed the preferences file (for PSCC), removed all previous versions of PS also used Adobes clean up tool to assist this, followed by uninstalling CC and reinstalling. A quirk is that on reinstall (this reverts to the early version of PS CC) the error goes away but when updating PS CC (being alerted to updates) the error returns.
Photo of Welsh Wizard

Welsh Wizard

  • 25 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated with Adobe technical support

Posted 6 years ago

  • 5
Photo of Soren Steffen

Soren Steffen

  • 15 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Log file created on Sat Nov 02 2013 16:02:27 GMT+0100 (CET)

[init] Package generator-core v1.0.0
[init] No Git repository found
[init] Node.js version: {"http_parser":"1.0","node":"0.10.15","v8":"3.14.5.9","ares":"1.9.0-DEV","uv":"0.10.13","zlib":"1.2.3","modules":"11","openssl":"1.0.1e"}
[init] OS: Darwin 13.0.0 (x64), platform: darwin
[init] unparsed command line: ["/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC/Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/MacOS/Photoshop-node","/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC/Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/Required/Generator-builtin","-i","27","-o","37","--launchreason","alwayson","-f","/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC/Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/Required/Plug-Ins/Generator/"]
[init] parsed command line: {"_":[],"$0":"./Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/MacOS/Photoshop-node ./Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/Required/Generator-builtin","i":27,"input":27,"o":37,"output":37,"launchreason":"alwayson","r":"alwayson","f":"/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC/Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/Required/Plug-Ins/Generator/","pluginfolder":"/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC/Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/Required/Plug-Ins/Generator/","m":null,"menu":null,"p":49494,"port":49494,"h":"localhost","host":"localhost","P":"password","password":"password"}
opening input pipe 27 and output pipe 37
Photoshop info: "authenticating now"
Photoshop message: {"id":1,"body":2}
[init] Generator started!
Loading plugins from /Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC/Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/Required/Plug-Ins/Generator
Loading plugin "generator-assets" from directory "/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC/Adobe Photoshop CC.app/Contents/Required/Plug-Ins/Generator/assets.generate"
[generator-assets] Package generator-assets v1.0.0
[generator-assets] No Git repository found
initializing generator-assets plugin with config {}
Subscribing to photoshop event generatorMenuChanged
Plugin loaded: generator-assets
Starting connection check loop
Generator initialized
Subscribing to photoshop event currentDocumentChanged
[1;31mWarning: unable to parse JavaScript message response '/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC' as JSON. Error: SyntaxError: Unexpected token /
[0mPhotoshop message: {"id":2,"body":"/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC"}
Photoshop path: /Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC
[1;31mWarning: unable to parse JavaScript message response '/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC' as JSON. Error: SyntaxError: Unexpected token /
[0mPhotoshop message: {"id":3,"body":"/Applications/Adobe Photoshop CC"}
Subscribing to photoshop event imageChanged
Determining the current document ID
Getting document info with these params: {"flags":{"compInfo":true,"imageInfo":true,"layerInfo":true,"expandSmartObjects":false,"getTextStyles":true,"selectedLayers":false,"getCompSettings":true}}
Photoshop message: {"id":4,"body":"[ActionDescriptor]"}
Menu created assets
Photoshop message: {"id":5,"body":"[ActionDescriptor]"}
Finished subscribe to photoshop event generatorMenuChanged
Photoshop message: {"id":6,"body":"[ActionDescriptor]"}
Finished subscribe to photoshop event currentDocumentChanged
Photoshop message: {"id":7,"body":"[ActionDescriptor]"}
Finished subscribe to photoshop event imageChanged
[1;31mPhotoshop error { id: 8, body: 'Error: No image open' }
[0m[1;31m[Assets] Error in getDocumentInfo: Error: No image open
[0mPhotoshop message: {"id":8,"body":"[ActionDescriptor]"}
Photoshop event: messageID: 6, name: currentDocumentChanged, parsedValue: 37
Emitting Photoshop event: [ 'PHOTOSHOP-EVENT-currentDocumentChanged', 37 ]
Current document ID: 37
Setting menu state to false
Photoshop event: messageID: 7, name: imageChanged, parsedValue: {"version":"1.0.0","timeStamp":1383404567.994,"id":37,"active":true,"file":"Untitled-1","metaDataOnly":true}
Emitting Photoshop event: [ 'PHOTOSHOP-EVENT-imageChanged',
{ version: '1.0.0',
timeStamp: 1383404567.994,
id: 37,
active: true,
file: 'Untitled-1',
metaDataOnly: true } ]
Image 37 was changed: {
"version": "1.0.0",
"timeStamp": 1383404567.994,
"id": 37,
"active": true,
"file": "Untitled-1",
"metaDataOnly": true
}
Unknown document, so getting all information
Getting document info with these params: {"documentId":37,"flags":{"compInfo":true,"imageInfo":true,"layerInfo":true,"expandSmartObjects":false,"getTextStyles":true,"selectedLayers":false,"getCompSettings":true}}
Photoshop message: {"id":9,"body":"[ActionDescriptor]"}
Photoshop message: {"id":10,"body":{"version":"1.0.0","timeStamp":1383404567.994,"id":37,"file":"Untitled-1","bounds":{"top":0,"left":0,"bottom":720,"right":1280},"selection":[1],"resolution":72,"globalLight":{"angle":120,"altitude":30},"generatorSettings":false,"layers":[{"id":3,"index":2,"type":"layerSection","name":"Video Group 1","bounds":{"top":0,"left":0,"bottom":720,"right":1280},"visible":true,"clipped":false,"blendOptions":{"mode":"passThrough"},"mask":{"removed":true},"generatorSettings":false,"layers":[{"id":2,"index":1,"type":"layer","name":"_STF0606","bounds":{"top":0,"left":0,"bottom":720,"right":1280},"visible":true,"clipped":false,"mask":{"removed":true},"generatorSettings":false}]}]}}
Received complete document: {
"version": "1.0.0",
"timeStamp": 1383404567.994,
"id": 37,
"file": "Untitled-1",
"bounds": {
"top": 0,
"left": 0,
"bottom": 720,
"right": 1280
},
"selection": [
1
],
"resolution": 72,
"globalLight": {
"angle": 120,
"altitude": 30
},
"generatorSettings": false,
"layers": [
{
"id": 3,
"index": 2,
"type": "layerSection",
"name": "Video Group 1",
"bounds": {
"top": 0,
"left": 0,
"bottom": 720,
"right": 1280
},
"visible": true,
"clipped": false,
"blendOptions": {
"mode": "passThrough"
},
"mask": {
"removed": true
},
"generatorSettings": false,
"layers": [
{
"id": 2,
"index": 1,
"type": "layer",
"name": "_STF0606",
"bounds": {
"top": 0,
"left": 0,
"bottom": 720,
"right": 1280
},
"visible": true,
"clipped": false,
"mask": {
"removed": true
},
"generatorSettings": false
}
]
}
]
}
Resetting state for document 37
Document path changed from undefined to "Untitled-1"
Scheduling change to layer 3 of 37
Creating layer context for layer 3
Creating change context for layer 3
Scheduling change to layer 2 of 37
Creating layer context for layer 2
Creating change context for layer 2
Photoshop message: {"id":10,"body":"[ActionDescriptor]"}
Updating layer 3 ("Video Group 1") of document 37
Layer 2 ("_STF0606") is now in layer 3 ("Video Group 1")
Updating layer 2 ("_STF0606") of document 37
Not deleting directory "/Users/min2/Desktop/Untitled-1-assets": it doesn't exist
Photoshop connection closed
Exiting
[1;31mExiting with code 0: generator close event
[0m

HTH
-Søren
Photo of Soren Steffen

Soren Steffen

  • 15 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes


Don't know if this means anything.

BTW I ran Yasu cleaning caches and swap files and updated pre binding.
After a restart I managed to clip and render one video clip.
Of course it came back on next attempt :o(
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15632 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Hmm. That is a strange error. I'll need to check with someone more familiar with text code.

It would be interesting to troubleshoot fonts as a precaution:

http://blogs.adobe.com/crawlspace/201...
Photo of Welsh Wizard

Welsh Wizard

  • 25 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi

Anything happening?
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15632 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Do you want to do a connect session?
Photo of Welsh Wizard

Welsh Wizard

  • 25 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
If it helps to solve the problem - yes
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15632 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Sending an email with a URL
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15633 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Just got off a connect session with WW - seems to be something with Adobe Generator and/or the Reflow Generator Plug-in being enabled that is causing the problem. I'm investigating more on my end with this information. Thanks Welsh Wizard. Appreciate the time this AM/afternoon.
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15633 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Official Response
I am able to reproduce with the info I gained from doing some remote troubleshooting with Welsh Wizard.

Workaround for program error splitting a clip is to go to Preferences>Plug-ins... and make sure "Enable Generator" is unchecked and restart Photoshop.

If you installed Edge Reflow, you will also need to disable the "Generator" folder in the Photoshop>Plug-ins folder by putting a tilde in front of the folders name. (e.g. ~Generator ) and restart Photoshop.
Photo of Soren Steffen

Soren Steffen

  • 15 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Great !.
Thank You very much !
Photo of Brandon Zell

Brandon Zell

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
In Photoshop CC when I drag a video onto the "new layer" icon (to duplicate the video) photoshop gets into a loop of program errors..


Steps to repeat:

  1. In Finder right click mp4 and select "Open with" and choose "Photoshop CC".

  2. Drag "Layer 1" (which is the mp4) over the "New Layer" icon and let go.

  3. The error will pop-up saying "Could not complete your request because of a program error.

  4. Clicking "ok" closes the pop-up which is immediately replaced with an identical pop-up. Force quitting the app is the only option left.



From Photoshop error log: 2013:10:11 16:05:18 : /Volumes/workarea/PS_14_Mac_Daily_Retail/20130923.r.427/photoshop/main/photoshop/xcode/../framework/sources/DynamicArray.cpp : 90 : REQUIRE failed

Photoshop version: 14.1.2 x64
Operating system: OSX 10.8.5

Update:It appears I cannot snip a video in half either.
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15632 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Try the solution/workaround to this issue in the official answer. (Disable generator and generator plug-ins)
Photo of Brandon Zell

Brandon Zell

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Voila, that worked. Thanks!
Photo of Misha Golev

Misha Golev

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Photoshop crashes after "Duplicate Group" command (Video Group on timeline).


Here's screen cast: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RAXb0...

Dear Ps developers, please fix this bug.
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15633 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Hi Misha,

Please try the solution/workaround to this issue in the official answer. (Disable generator and generator plug-ins)
Photo of Misha Golev

Misha Golev

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you, very much.
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15633 Posts
  • 2368 Reply Likes
Official Response
This should be fixed in the latest update.