Photoshop CC 2015.1: Preview only toggles once during action

  • 12
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
When using levels, curve etc within an action - the preview toggle only works once. The action has a pause so we can manually amend each adjustment. You are now unable to toggle preview on and off repeatedly. The only way to toggle between the two states is to change the settings within the control. It'll then toggle once again between states.
Photoshop 2015.1 (20151114.r.301 x64)
Brand new top spec PC i7, 32Gb ram, win10 et al
Photo of Darren Chung

Darren Chung

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 12
Photo of Doyle Yoder

Doyle Yoder

  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I did not see this in 2015.1 but I sure am seeing this with any adjustment dialog in 2015.1.1. Luckly I still have 2014 on this machine so I can use that.

This bugs makes 2015.1.1 pretty near useless for image editing adjustements.
Photo of JoeS

JoeS

  • 89 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled PHOTOSHOP CC 2015.1: Adjustment Layer > Levels started from Action and Preview.

I run an action, where an Adjustment Layer > Levels is beeing executed with dialog turned on activated in actions panel.
The dialog box pops up.
I now click "Auto" and then turn off "Preview" to see the difference.
Now I see the original image without adjustment effect.
If I now try to turn on preview, nothing happens. I don't see the adjustmentlayer effect.
Bug?
Photo of Mike Bruce

Mike Bruce

  • 13 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
I am having a similar issue with the preview button not working for HDR Toning, as written up here: http://feedback.photoshop.com/photosh...

How do I get someone at Adobe to look at my bug and recreate it? Thanks
Photo of Tim Wilcock

Tim Wilcock

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I've discovered the same issue since updating a few days ago. Makes the functionality useless if it's not a bug.
Photo of Peter Klaas

Peter Klaas

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
the same issue occurs when using APPLY IMAGE during an action:
the preview toggle only works once!
So it's no more possible assessing the impact of the width of adjustments.
In fact: an action is no longer an option for this great feature APPY IMAGE.

24 years it has worked well, until now.
If this bug isn't gonna be fixed soon, I'll go back to an early 2015 CC Version. Actions for APPLY IMAGE are essential components of my workflow conception.
Photo of Lisa Viviani

Lisa Viviani

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Same issue here with CC 2015 - and t's happening on two different macs! But it's only when running adjustments from an action. Makes my color correcting workflow useless.
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15328 Posts
  • 2224 Reply Likes
Thanks. Our engineers are looking into this issue. A workaround is to tickle the slider to make a change to force the preview to update.
Photo of Lisa Viviani

Lisa Viviani

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Yes, that does work, but I wouldn't consider it an efficient workaround. Thanks for looking into this.
Photo of Peter Klaas

Peter Klaas

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
That's right, but in working with Apply Image that effects too much disorientation for the visual sense. The only way open is to abstain from actions in the meantime, I think.
Photo of Kay Brewer

Kay Brewer

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
There is  no preview box at all in the Levels adjustment layer....I'm not working with an action but just applying a layer. Without a preview box, it's not too useful. My workaround is Image/Adjustments/Levels, do my adjustments (which has a preview box that never goes away), then put a mask on that layer if required. That's ridiculous to have to do this. How hard can it be to make the Levels Adjustment Layer be the same as it was before the update - or even like it was in CS6?
Photo of Mike Bruce

Mike Bruce

  • 13 Posts
  • 13 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Photoshop CC 2015 'Preview' toggle button in 'HDR toning' no longer works.

I've noticed this bug for a while and it's still not been fixed, perhaps noone is aware?

If I open an image, then choose Image -> Adjustments -> HDR Toning... the image appears with the new HDR look.

If I want to see what the initial version looked like, I can untoggle the Preview button on the right of the dialog (beneath OK and Cancel). However, if I re-toggle the Preview button nothing happens until I change another parameter and then the image updates.

In short, the Preview button only works once (when you turn it off) and it does not turn on again when it's reselected. This is intensely annoying.

I'm using Photoshop CC 2015.1.2, 20160113.r.355.x64 on a Windows 7 SP1 64 bit laptop.
Photo of John Hennessy

John Hennessy

  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled PHOTOSHOP CC 2015.1.2 - Filters preview checkbox only works once when filter call....

After updating to CC 2015.1.2, the preview checkbox for at least some filters (accessed by 'P', spacebar or mouse) only works once. It will not work again for back and forth comparisons. But this is only true if the filter was called by an action. If the filter is started off the menu it works as it should. Even if I make a new, post-2015.1.2 test action which only calls, say, Unsharp Mask, it fails to work a second time.
Photo of Chris Conway

Chris Conway

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled PHOTOSHOP CC 2015.1 - Filter previews not working correctly.

Since the update to the latest version of CC (currently 2015.1.1 version) when using filters such as gaussian blur, if the blur preview is visible, I'll untick the preview box which turns it off. If I then tick the preview box again the preview doesn't appear until I change the values for the blur (radius in this case).

Same seems to happen with other filters.

I've only been able to reproduce this when the filter is part of an action though, using the modal dialog option for pausing the action to select your values.

It makes very typical actions for frequency separation etc very difficult to use.
Photo of Dominique Provost

Dominique Provost

  • 25 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled PS's Preview once unchecked doesn't work anymore.

Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15328 Posts
  • 2224 Reply Likes
Official Response