Lightroom Classic: Preset modifications get deleted when deleting rejecting images

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Not a Problem
  • (Edited)
When I apply a preset to images and put them in a collection and then modify the preset, when i do "delete rejected images" to remove the rejected images from the collection, it deletes the preset modifications as well.
Photo of Isabelle Ruen

Isabelle Ruen

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • like i'm wasting my time.

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
Photo of David Golding

David Golding

  • 91 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
If you go and set a flag on one or more image (s) to Rejected, and then you decide to Delete Rejected Photos, you will see this prompt:



If you select Remove, the image will be removed from your catalog, including any virtual copies as found in Collections, but not deleted from your hard drive. You will loose all edits.

If you select Delete from Disk, it will do that AND delete it from your hard drive

So, I do not understand what you are referring to, the modifications are associated to the image. No image, now edits.

Now this will not alter any images that are not flagged as rejects. And this will not remove any presets form Lightroom


Photo of David Golding

David Golding

  • 91 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Perhaps I misunderstand, Please give more info on what you are trying to accomplish.
Photo of David Golding

David Golding

  • 91 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Perhaps a misunderstanding on where image are stored in LRC.

The catalog is a database, it does not contain any of your images. It knows where they are.

You can manage where the images are actually kept via the Folders Panel in the Library Module.

Images you see in a Collection, are virtual copies, the images are not kept their.

If you want to just remove an image from a Collection, you do not Delete it. Instead you "Remove from Collection"
Photo of David Golding

David Golding

  • 91 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
(Edited)
Photo of Isabelle Ruen

Isabelle Ruen

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you David.
Photo of eartho

eartho, Champion

  • 1198 Posts
  • 364 Reply Likes
You have to save the updated Preset if you want to keep it...
Photo of Isabelle Ruen

Isabelle Ruen

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you. I don’t see how deleting some images should change the adjustments on others, though.
Photo of Yves Crausaz

Yves Crausaz

  • 468 Posts
  • 68 Reply Likes
If you have virtual copies, especially don't ever remove the original image, obviously as the virtual copies will be deleted also.
If you do the different development of the original for the virtual copies, the only solution that allows you to keep these different developments at the level of the original is to manually record the 'instant' since each copy virtual development mode on Mac cmd + n