Lightroom Classic 9.2: Publishing services in publishing manager get marked "not saved" w/o touching any settings on right

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • (Edited)
Ever since the 9.2 update, just clicking on a publishing service in the manager dialog box to select it, it's as if you made a change to the settings. However, I didn't touch anything in the settings. It's frustrating when looking through the settings and then dialog boxes pop up to ask you to save. It does this with every service that I have added. I have attached a video below exhibiting the described behavior. I was able to reproduce this behavior on another computer that is running Windows 10 and this didn't appear until the 9.2 update so I think it's a bug present on all systems.



System Info:
Lightroom Classic version: 9.2 [ 202001311240-2d026470 ]
License: Creative Cloud
Language setting: en-US
Operating system: Mac OS 10
Version: 10.15.4 [19E266]
Application architecture: x64
Logical processor count: 4
Processor speed: 1.4 GHz
SqLite Version: 3.30.1
Built-in memory: 4,096.0 MB

If relevant, my system is a MacBook Air 13" Early 2014 model.

Thank you for your concern,
Steven DeWitt
Photo of Steven DeWitt

Steven DeWitt

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Dan Hartford Photo

Dan Hartford Photo

  • 451 Posts
  • 211 Reply Likes
yes.  Images seem to mysteriously pop over to the Updated section of PS collections for no apparent reason.  This has been the case since the inception of PS's.  I haven't been able to prove it, but there are some theories about this

1)  Some plugins work in the background and update information contained in a "plugin data" section of the catalog based on whatever the plugin is designed to do.  That may be triggering a "has changed" status.

2)  There is some thought that syncing images to the cloud may in some cases trigger the state change.  Maybe looking at the image in the edit section of one of the cloud based apps

3)  Opening the image in the develop module could set a "has changed" flag, even if you don't change anything.

Anyway, I have not spent the time experimenting with all of this.  I just know that whenever I need to use the Publish Now button I typically move all the images in the "modified" section to the "published" section unless I know that a real change has occured on it.  Then I hit "Publish" to do the adds and deletes.

For awhile I had a keyword that I manually set whenever I made a real change to an image and could use that to know which images really needed to be republished. But I wasn't disciplined enough for it to be useful so I abandoned that idea.