Photoshop CC asks me to save again after doing a Save As

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 years ago
The sequence that leads to my problem:

1. Use the Save As command to save a file (it doesn't matter what file format I use)
2. Use the Close command to close the file

It is at this point that I get a prompt to save the file before closing, even though I just did the Save As and haven't made any changes. One thing I noticed was that after using the Save As command, the the icon at the top of the photo window is solid for a split second, then becomes grayed out and an asterisk appears to the right of the text at the top of the window. So it's like some change is being made in the background that I can't control.

I still have Photoshop CS6 on my computer. I don't have this problem in CS6 and I haven't been able to replicate this problem there. I checked the File Handling section in Preferences, and all my options are the same in CS6 and CC.

Has anyone else had this problem, or can anyone think of any solutions? I use Save As quite a bit, and I'm getting tired of having the prompt come up every time I close a file that I just saved
Photo of Jonathan Stoltzfus

Jonathan Stoltzfus

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 813 Reply Likes
The format you saved in the first time may not have saved everything in your document (ie: saving a layered file to JPEG), so the document still has unsaved information.

It is also possible that some third party plugin or script is modifying the file after saving.
Photo of DaveChap

DaveChap

  • 27 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Hey Chris, I just noticed this after saving a PSD. Your point about the JPEG being saved from a PSD is valid, but here is my input:

1. I have a PSD open and it's saved. I now Save As and make a copy (giving it a new name).

2. I notice that (on a Mac) the dark dot is in the red close button and there is an asterisk in the name on the document tab. I attempt to close and I am promoted to "Don't Save, Cancel and Save."

The file did get saved with the original "Save As" command, but Photoshop seems to think something has been changed?
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 813 Reply Likes
That still means that the original file doesn't have all the changes saved to it -- you only saved a copy.
Photo of DaveChap

DaveChap

  • 27 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
To clarify, I could create a new document from scratch and make a few changes. I would save that document (changes saved) and then immediately "Save As" to make a copy. I name the new document and finish the "Save As" process but I am left with a document that looks to be unsaved (dot in red close button and asterisk in name).

I ended up uninstalling and reinstalling PS from the Creative Cloud app and the issue is now resolved. It could have been something in the 14.1.1 and 14.1.2 updates that caused this.
Photo of Jonathan Stoltzfus

Jonathan Stoltzfus

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
DaveChap, Thanks! The uninstall and reinstall fixed the issue for me, too.
Photo of DaveChap

DaveChap

  • 27 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Well, it worked for me for an hour or so. Now it's back! Not sure what is making it happen...