Photoshop: Installation and deletion of old version

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • (Edited)
It is ridiculous that the default in installing a Photoshop upgrade is to delete the old version!!!
Photo of James Gray

James Gray

  • 8 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Cristen Gillespie

Cristen Gillespie

  • 1177 Posts
  • 315 Reply Likes
Totally agreed. But the ACC team hasn't listened to the numerous complaints about hiding the option to keep the old version under Advanced. Absolutely no reason they should continue to hide just 2 user preferences there.
Photo of Birck Cox

Birck Cox

  • 24 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
The number of problems that have cropped up in installing Photoshop into Mac OS Sierra have understandably raised users' suspicions of updates and upgrades of any kind. Until now, installing an application upgrade OVER an existing install was the norm. But the option to install a new version of Photoshop in addition to the current version has always been there, as I found out yesterday (Nov 4), when I simply asked the question ("How do I install PS CC 2017 alongside PS CC 2015.5?") on the Adobe forums. I had my answer in lesss than an hour, from multiple respondents. So the "default" setting for installation is replacing the current install with a new one. OK, so what? The default stroke width in Illustrator is one point, or .353 mm, and the default Photoshop resolution for new files is-lately- 72dpi( it was at one time 300dpi). So what? Default settings seem to be part and parcel of computer applications. Go figure.
Photo of Cristen Gillespie

Cristen Gillespie

  • 1177 Posts
  • 315 Reply Likes
>  So what? Default settings seem to be part and parcel of computer applications. Go figure.>

The "so what" here is that this is a "default" with hidden consequences, that goes against past practices of NOT replacing the current version, and causes the user to have to spend a lot of time fixing it, unlike the default stroke in Illustrator or the default resolution for a web document in PS. If the ACC app were better designed, people wouldn't find it practically impossible to find the older versions to reinstall, but those are very nearly hidden too. Find Additional Apps > All Apps. Do earlier versions show up? No. You have to know that within that menu, yet another choice lurks. And then you have to know that clicking the Install button doesn't mean Install, it means Choose from the drop down list which version to install.

So many people get so totally lost that they're super angry, thinking they have just unwittingly uninstalled an app to find the new version has an issue with some function critical to their workflow, and that they can't go back. It's all just very unnecessary and causes a very unpleasant user experience. It's easier to install alongside, as we always did by default, and then use the ACC to uninstall when we're satisfied with the new version, than it is to go through all this rigamarole.

We've said this from the first, and it would take very little effort for the ACC team to make the user experience reassuring, instead of deciding that users not only wanted the default changed to remove everything, but also wanted the option to keep the old default hidden under an idiotic and meaningless Advanced button. They seem to be counting on leaving it the way it is for so long, people finally believe it's the way it should be and know how to deal with it. That hasn't gone so well yet.