Elements 7: Not working with Windows 10

  • 8
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • (Edited)
I am having a problem opening my photos and getting them to my Photoshop Elements program. My basis is a 7.1 and since I downloaded Windows 10 I can't work with it. Are others having this problem and if so how is it being resolved?
Photo of Marilyn Zuch

Marilyn Zuch

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated!

Posted 3 years ago

  • 8
Photo of Larry Lawlor

Larry Lawlor

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Yes indeed. Very frustrating. Plan on returning to 7. PE will not open RAW photos.
One message read: "Must have Internet Explotr 5 or above. I have version 11. Windows 10 would not recognize my dvd burner either. Bought external one and it would not work either. Windows 10 in a pita!!!
Photo of Atiqur

Atiqur

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Yes, you can do it, but remember, Windows lifecycle fact is Windows 7 support will end on January 14, 2020
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 522 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
I have noticed that about Windows 10 but all other Windows didn't want to run it's drag and drop onto a disc drive.  So I bought either nero or Roxio to do the job for me and it works just find.  I currently have Roxio.   Give it a try.  It works with internal and external drives both.   I work with a drive copier all with a much hotter laser which makes no diff but it is an external rack of drives.  
Photo of Vicki Carlson

Vicki Carlson

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Windows 10 also won't run my Quicken program.
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 522 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
Highlight its icon then right-click it, then click on Compatibility and follow the prompts.  Even though it says it works on Windows 10, sometimes Windows 10 needs to reset the program or run it on an earlier version.  The reset is in Settings, Programs and Features, highlight the program and see if it has a blue-link on it.  Then click on that if it does and click on the reset button on the left side of the next screen.   Any other rests are in the SFC section of Windows in the Windows Powershell which run in DOS mode.   If you get that far, I will send instructions how it resets Windows to work with programs.  It's not always a "for sure" thing.   
Photo of Karen Bingley

Karen Bingley

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Photo Elements 7 worked okay for a while after I installed Windows 10. Then I started getting a message that not all of the functions would work. That was okay with me since the functions I did use still worked. Now I get a message that the editor isn't working and it won't load. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the program, but I am still getting the same error message.
Photo of Christopher Mason

Christopher Mason

  • 1 Post
  • 2 Reply Likes
I have spent several weeks trying to solve this problem and have failed to get any sense out of either Adobe or Microsoft. You would think such large companies would have a help desk you could e-mail when all else fails but I have just been going round in circles.
Photo of atikah adzhar

atikah adzhar

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I have the same problem. Elements 7 was working fine with Windows 10 up until the latest round of updates which was really extensive. After that, it was 'reinstalled' and now I can't open Elements 7 at all. It's so unfair that I have to use Elements 15 trial just because I can't get any support for Elements 7 on Windows 10. Anyone found a solution?
Photo of Donzie Davis

Donzie Davis

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Ditto on what APPEARS to be the last WIN 10 update - Elements main choice screen opens fast, as before, but EDIT, after loading its components, hangs up, leaving a long purple banner along the top, a short green banner at right top, tools on the left, that don't work. The banner colors are the create and share button colors from the right side of a working version of Elements.
 - a reinstall produced the identical issues. Selecting other than EDIT from the main menu is a total failure. -- The sometimes - boiiing sound gets me a gray box with an Exclamation point, but no text in the box. -  btw, the upgrade when this SEEMED to happen had the 3-D paint feature (yet a second computer handled the update ok and Elements is fine) -- thoughts?
Photo of John Gall

John Gall

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I normally use elements 7 often, but had not used it is several weeks.  Today will not work  just as comments above...If it is Windows 10...wish I never had it!!!!!!!
Photo of Rick Williams

Rick Williams

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
You've exactly described the problem I am having.  I didn't have a problem running PSE 7 on Windows 10 before, but since updating Windows 10, I get the purple and green banners, and none of the headers I would normally get and need in that bar.
Photo of Vicki Carlson

Vicki Carlson

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I have still never gotten it to work, despite trying a number of things.  I guess I'll have to ask for a replacement program for Christmas. :(  Microsoft is increasingly irritating.  I'm about to switch to Apple.  Have you ever tried to call them for help? Some foreigner immediately asks for your credit card number, and even tells you if he doesn't fix it, you still pay.
Photo of Gordon Turner

Gordon Turner

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I am having exactly the same problem as the above with my Element 7 on Windows! Has anyone found a solution?
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 522 Posts
  • 57 Reply Likes
The answers are below.  I won't repeat my letter.   

Steve   
Photo of Vicki Carlson

Vicki Carlson

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I reinstalled my Photoshop program and it seems to be working now.  Try reinstalling if you still have the disk.
Photo of John Roberts

John Roberts

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I found the answer in an Adobe forum thread:
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2341976

Which was to roll back Windows 10 Creators Update v1703 which broke my Photoshop Elements 7.

This worked for me.
Photo of Tracy

Tracy

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I don't have the "Go back to an earlier build option".
Photo of Tracy Taylor Simpson

Tracy Taylor Simpson

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I'm of the opinion that since Microsoft's application is the one that broke, per se, My Photoshop, they need to offer up a repair so that I can use this critical software again. It shocks me that they haven't even acknowledged the problem.
Photo of Rick Williams

Rick Williams

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks to John Roberts for his post.  Going back to the earlier version of Windows 10 has done the trick.
Photo of Tracy Taylor Simpson

Tracy Taylor Simpson

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I'm unable to go back. I don't have the option to undo the most recent update. When I uninstall the update, it does nothing to help. Microsoft needs to establish a remedy that everyone can use to restore Photoshop. They did not need to be providing updates that obliterate other expensive, needed software's.
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 547 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Photoshop came in two types, 32 and 64 bit standards.  You may have the 32 bit standard.
To use Photoshop 7 on Windows 10
, you can use the compatibility mode in Windows 10 for that application.  When you do you will be able to select which Windows version you used originally.  

To do this, you can select the shortcut icon, right click and select properties, then click the Compatibility tab.  There you can select to use compatibility mode for that application by check mark and select which Windows version as a protocol to run it (Win8, Win7, Vista, XP).  It will still function on Windows 10 as a 32 bit standard application.  

Happy computing,   
Steve Lehman, MCSE  


 
Photo of Steven Jones

Steven Jones

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
This solution worked for me (Elements 7 on Windows 10 version 1709).  I found the compatibility tab as described then clicked "Run compatibility troubleshooter".  This recommended running as Windows Vista, so I ticked the Compatibility mode box and selected Windows Vista.  Worked perfectly!
Photo of Tracy Taylor Simpson

Tracy Taylor Simpson

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you. I tired this several tinted and it didn't work epithet. Thanks for trying to help though.
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 547 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Reinstall PSE-7 then try again.  If it doesn't work after an install, you can keep current with the latest, 14, 15 or the new 16 (2018 version).   
Photo of Tracy Taylor Simpson

Tracy Taylor Simpson

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you for your help!  You've been very helpful!
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman, Champion

  • 404 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes
Tracey, 

Did you try reinstalling it from online yet?   
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman, Champion

  • 404 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes
If you have downloaded it from this from the link below and tried it, it should be okay.  if not, we'll reset your Windows 10 for you.   The application can be reset.   If that doesn't work, we can reset Windows for you.   First, let me know about yuor reinstall.      

Download your PSE-7 from here and reinstall it with your own serial number.      
  https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop-elements/kb/photoshop-elements-7-8-9-downloads.html

If you don't have your serial number, and you did register your product, Adobe has those serial numbers online at: https://accounts.adobe.com - When you get there, click on Manage Your Accounts, then View Your Products to display a list of your products registered and serial numbers.      

Let me know what you did.   Calling Microsoft will only get you bounced back to here.   
Photo of Tracy Taylor Simpson

Tracy Taylor Simpson

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you.  The first link does not show my products and says I have nothing registered.  I'm not sure if that has anything to do with ordering my laptop with the product on my laptop prior to shipping or not.  Couldn't locate a serial number within the program itself because none of the menus are available, if it would show me anyway.

The second link gave me an error message:
"Wrong LinkYou have clicked on an invalid link. Please make sure that you have typed the link correctly. If are copying this link from a mail reader please ensure that you have copied all the lines in the link."
Photo of Tracy Taylor Simpson

Tracy Taylor Simpson

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
No, my dad passed away and I haven't been online in a few days.
Photo of Tracy

Tracy

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
NEW COMMENT:

I finally figured out why nothing was working with my PhotoShop. It seems that the Windows update related to art, color or something else along the lines (the only update that stands out among the rest) completely removed my WinRAR software.  Deleted it in whole.  PhotoShop will not work without it.

Got to your computer's Control Panel and select the option that speaks to Programs. Use the first drop down bar to locate the Windows line that speaks to the art, color or whatever. Click on that line and at the top of the list, click uninstall.

Then, I deleted my PhotoShop software all together.  Reinstalled it.  Still didn't work however I got an update alert that I needed WinRAR to complete the PhotoShop setup.  So, I had to purchase the software online for $29.99.  Once the software downloaded, I rebooted my computer.

I haven't had a problem since.  Still not please with Windows for causing all this trouble, to be honest, however happy that I'm back in business again (with no useful help from Microsoft, btw).

Thank you for attempting to remove the update for me.  I appreciate your efforts.  Unfortunately, it didn't work either.  Maybe this update will help others.
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 547 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Welcome Estefania,   

You're in the right place.   Read everything and get a few tips.   

Above, Vicki Carlson had success by reinstalling.  Go Vicki!   Keep trying; it works 1 out of 3.   I have found that it can take several tries of reinstalling to get it just right but it works eventually. On most problems, especially with an older versions, reinstalling has resolved more than others. 

Windows has compatibility Mode and a software Reset in Settings, Apps & Features, and a technical SFC scan & reset.  I think I may have covered those.  

Windows 10 may see PSE-7 as "old, 32 bit' and is not installing it into 64 bit page-frame - hence my compatibility suggestion I mentioned above, which installs a 64 bit program into the correct page frame for Windows to find it.  Most of the problems is that Windows doesn't find the program or some of its parts in the page frames.  

A better work around is to reinstall without the disc.   Installing with the disc can get the usual Windows check-sums from the disc.   Without the disc, a download will bypass those check-sums and install it anyway.   This link is for versions 7, 8 and 9.   You'll need your original serial number.   https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop-elements/kb/photoshop-elements-7-8-9-downloads.html

This link is for versions 10 thru 15.   Have your serial number (and language).   
https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop-elements/kb/photoshop-elements-downloads.html

If you don't have your serial number, and you did register your product, Adobe has those serial numbers online.  You'll need to sign in at this link: https://accounts.adobe.com - When you get there, click Manage Your Accounts, then View Your Products to display a list of your products registered and serial numbers.      

Didn't register?  It's time for you to move forward.  Get 14, 15, 16 (2018). Buy, install, register.  After its install, on the Help menu is a register button.   

Steve Lehman, MCSE, Seattle   
(Edited)
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 547 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Hi Tracy, 

Per my last letter above:  
The first link is the download link for Windows 7.   The second link is for all other program versions but not version-7.   The (small) third link to check for your serial numbers is where you would log into Adobe to find serial numbers.   If a link does not work for you try it again.  Otherwise, it could be your browser.  Mine works with Internet Explorer.   If you have an older Operating System than Windows-10, then you might try Google Chrome which is generic and works with older systems.   

Your serial number does not reside within your program and it cannot be optains through your Operating System.   If your product is not listed for you, it was not registered.  You would have needed to register your product even if they came with your computer, as there would have been a "register product" on your help menu.  They don't register products ahead nor automatically.  I know you cannot get that menu, so you cannot register the product (just) to get to your serial number.    I am sorry there is not a registered serial number for your product.    

One earlier (forum) suggestion was to roll back the Creator's Update (delete it) and that could fix the problem. It will come another day but you could keep your update schedule out in front of it by rescheduling updates 3 days ahead.  I actually do that myself.   

You might want to pay attention to this:
Since your problem are the menus, one user has said that reinstalling fonts which the update took away may resolve the menu problem.  That person brought these links to another forum, so you might try these fixes at these links.  

The first link is to fix missing menus if that's the problem.  The second link is similar but fixes a problem with menus that won't open, or won't open with a mouse.  These are two different problems, but one can work for the other sometimes.   Check out both before proceeding.  

First link:   
https://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/missing-text-in-pull-down-menus-after-windows-update?topic-reply-list%5Bsettings%5D%5Bfilter_by%5D=all&topic-reply-list%5Bsettings%5D%5Bpage%5D=1#reply_18832278

Second link:    
https://helpx.adobe.com/elements-organizer/kb/mouse-cursor-not-visible-or-menus-not-opening.html

Another way to resolve this is to go forward and get a later version.   Things have not changed much and you may like it better.  Personally, I have not had your menu problem, but if I had, I would go forwarded to a newer version at once.  I say, get the latest version while we can still "own" it.  Version 7 is one of the oldest I have work on.  Regrettably, I have all the version except version 7.    I know this program is your favorite.   

Steve Lehman   
Photo of Tracy

Tracy

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
NEW COMMENT:

I finally figured out why nothing was working with my PhotoShop. It seems that the Windows update related to art, color or something else along the lines (the only update that stands out among the rest) completely removed my WinRAR software.  Deleted it in whole.  PhotoShop will not work without it.

Got to your computer's Control Panel and select the option that speaks to Programs. Use the first drop down bar to locate the Windows line that speaks to the art, color or whatever. Click on that line and at the top of the list, click uninstall.

Then, I deleted my PhotoShop software all together.  Reinstalled it.  Still didn't work however I got an update alert that I needed WinRAR to complete the PhotoShop setup.  So, I had to purchase the software online for $29.99.  Once the software downloaded, I rebooted my computer.

I haven't had a problem since.  Still not please with Windows for causing all this trouble, to be honest, however happy that I'm back in business again (with no useful help from Microsoft, btw).

Thank you for attempting to remove the update for me.  I appreciate your efforts.  Unfortunately, it didn't work either.  Maybe this update will help others.
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 547 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Tracy,  

I'm happy it worked for you but I am a little confused why you need Winrar to run Photoshop.  Maybe you used it in the first place and are used to installing with it.  Winrar is a zip program like Winzip.  It contains compressed files like a zip file.  It will decompress files needed for an install but Photoshop should unzip and install without Winrar.  And to completely rip out winrar is a pretty good thing for some people since to get rid of it is almost impossible.  For some, if something got rid of Winrar, people would be happy about it.  I have Winrar but I consider myself as stuck with it.  The program it unzipped didn't work anyhow and  I could just remove it and be rid.   Tell me how Winrar came upon Photoshop and how you happened to install it with Winrar other than unzipping files with it.   
Photo of William Moore

William Moore

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Steve - I followed your prior posts and uninstalled my Photoshop, then reinstalled through the link you provided. I have my original box and CD, so I have the serial number, but when prompted to submit, I was informed that the serial number was incorrect. I re-entered three times, and carefully checked it each time. I did enter it correctly, as labeled on the back lower left of my box, and it was not recognized? I also went on the site to see if there was a registered serial number that was different, but this was not available. I then tried to reinstall from my disc, and discovered that my disc drive is no longer recognized. Now I have no Photoshop Elements 7.0 on my desktop, and cannot seem to get a copy back up and working. HELP!
Photo of David Walker

David Walker

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like
Can't help but just to note PSE7 also has corrupt screen on start up on my PC after the large Win 10 update of Dec 29th 2017. Various tries at changing the compatibility mode etc didn't help. Very annoying as PSE7 does everything I need. I do have an old copy of CS2 v9.0 that does work although preferred PSE7.
PSE7 would also not reinstall properly from the original DVD leaving off many files including the main .exe. Tried the PSE7 download below from Adobe site but Win 10 reported it couldn't even run the install exe,  so looks final for PSE7 on my PC.
https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop-elements/kb/download-earlier-version-photoshop-elements.html
(Edited)
Photo of Maureen Hines

Maureen Hines

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
This same thing seems to have happened to a lot of people and Adobe dose not seem to be offering any real help. This makes me wonder if Adobe has made this problem happen?? 

This is a product that I paid for as you have and now like so many others the access to a purchased Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 has been made unusable. Every time I try the various options that Adobe offers it always comes down to purchasing the program again. 

They do not provide any real answer to fixing the problem for the program that we already purchase. 

According to what I have read, they have no right to do this.This is just not right! Even though there are so many people reporting this problem, Adobe still is not supporting the products that we purchased in good faith. 

It seems that going to their support people dose nothing to correct this. Adobe, just is not interested in past purchasing, only in generating more sales by corrupting the older programs.

What I am interested in is how to get Adobe to take responsibility for what they have sold to us and correct the problem. Looking for ideas on how to make this happen.
Photo of Steve Lehman

Steve Lehman

  • 547 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Maureen, 

if you have a specific problem then state it specifically so we can help.  This is a forum of skilled Adobe users who try to help others.   I'm a certified Windows tech (MCSE).  I do not work for Adobe (none of us do).   From what you say so far, your Adobe Elements 7 is old and not support anymore.  We shouldn't be helping with it.   Getting up to the newer Elements versions is the way to go.   We just zoomed past versions 14, 15 and 16-2018 version.   You may like this one.   It's like the Elements 7 but works with Windows 10.  The problem you are having may be that you have a 32 bit system and it's not compatible.   In Windows 10 you can use compatible mode by highlighting the icon, right-click, then click on compatible mode.  It's that easy.  If it's 64 bit then reinstall it.  Do you still have the disc?   Also you might want to read one or two of my remedies above to get you started on it.  It's either that or buy the new one.  It's well worth the $70 to get the new.   Really, there's no need to get frustrated over it.   It's not worth the frustration if you get the new one.  Hey, I'm broke and even I put one on my cred card.  go for it.   Bye for now.   

Steve Lehman, mcse