You could try creating a direct shortcut to the editor and organizer on your desktop to bypass the advertisement on the welcome screen.
You have to be 'signed in'. That does not mean you always have to be with an active web connection. That simply means that your software is 'activated' and legit. If you 'sign out', the license is deactivated for this computer and can be activated for another one (you are allowed two installations).
Already had a shortcut, but dumped that and created another to no avail. Still have the same problem... Frankly, this feels like Adobe trying to create frustrations that will lead to the sale of a new product, and I don't like it!