Photoshop: Overwrite confirmation prompt generated twice - by system and by Photoshop - macOS 10.15 Catalina

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • (Edited)
When I try to overwrite existing file, I am getting two prompts to confirm the overwrite, one is generated by the system and the other is generated by Photoshop. When I go to save a file (File > Export > Save for Web) and I choose the same name, the system prompt to replace the file comes first, I choose "Replace", prompt closes and after that I see the Photoshop prompt I have to choose "Replace" again. 

I am seeing this behavior since my update to Catalina, before only Photoshop prompt was visible. I did not see this issue reported on Known issues page.

Screenshots of the issue: https://adobe.ly/2VMCsBg

Expected behavior: System popup should be suppressed and only Photoshop prompt to overwrite the file should be kept.

System: macOS 10.15 Catalina
Photoshop version: Photoshop CC 20.0.6
Computer: MacBook Pro 15-inch, 2019, 2.3GHz Intel Core i9, 16GB ram, Radeon 560X 4 GB
Photo of Adrian Kollarik

Adrian Kollarik

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Yves Crausaz

Yves Crausaz

  • 547 Posts
  • 77 Reply Likes
yes, we say it since days, do not go to Catalina today!

Photo of Adrian Kollarik

Adrian Kollarik

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I think it is important to provide feedback on the new system, this is the way how it should be resolved. The bug is not a show-stopper, I am just letting devs know. :)