New book's pictures merge with previous ones!

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Acknowledged
  • (Edited)
Hi. I'm creating a new book in the book module. I have a previous collection with the relative saved book, now I have a new collection from where I'm gathering the pictures for the new book.
The problem is that when I select the new collection, in the film strip I see also the pictures from the previous one! So if I let the new book auto fill I get the two collections' pics merged together. I found kind of a workaround by deleting the pages of the old pictures, but when I hit "create save book" it creates the new book with all the pictures (old+new) again! Please help! Thank you.

Photo of paolo cristofoli

paolo cristofoli

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
Photo of G0apher

G0apher, Adobe Employee

  • 19 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
Hi Paolo, thanks for bringing this to our notice, and apologise for the inconvenience.
I am able to see the issue that you have reported and have a logged a bug for the Lightroom Team.
Thanks!
Photo of Bhargav

Bhargav, Official Rep

  • 37 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Hi Paolo,

We could see the issue while using  "create save book".
Also, a better workaround use "clear book" which will delete the older pictures and keep only new pictures in the Data source [Filmstrip]. 

This step will not cause the "create save book" to include old and new pictures

Thanks,
Bhargav
Photo of paolo cristofoli

paolo cristofoli

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Bhargav. When I first opened the book module I had a blank book page (the previous was already saved and published), so just by clicking on the new collection I had all the pictures merged in the filmstrip. I don't remember actually if I even could issue the "clear book" command, given that it was just a blank template.
So I started with the new book and managed to have it right with only the new pictures, but now I'm kind of stuck because if I save it I'll get also the old pictures, and if I do "clear book" I'll get my book swiped out! Don't know...given that I've just sent it to Blurb I could do the "clear book" anyway, I guess I'll loose everything but at least I'll get the printed book in my hand...
[edit]actually I can't find any "clear book" command..I can see "clear layout" or "delete" if I right click on a saved book.
(Edited)