Moving Files - Changes Can't Be Undone - Really?

  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 3 weeks ago
  • Answered
Merged

This conversation has been merged. Please reference the main conversation: Lightroom: Undo moving pictures

My photo folders on my Windows 10 PC need to be reorganized.  I went to move a folder inside Lightroom and it warned me that any changes made could not be undone.  Concerned, I did a little test.  I took some arcane photo and cropped it and changed the exposure, then moved it.  I was then able to change the cropping back to what looked like full image and reset the exposure back to zero.  The warning and my ability to still make changes don't seem to make sense.  Please provide some insights.  And if changes can't be undone after I close the software or something - how does one ever reorganize files and folders?  That limitation doesn't seem reasonable.
Photo of Jon Kreski

Jon Kreski

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 weeks ago

  • 2
Photo of Antoine Hlmn

Antoine Hlmn

  • 276 Posts
  • 78 Reply Likes
Also, be careful: of you use LR to move files, LR can (and does) crash resulting in lost files. It is therefore advised to use the OS to move (copy THEN delete!) the files and let LR find the files. There’s a thread about it here
Photo of Jim Robertson

Jim Robertson

  • 34 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
I have assumed that the "can not be undone" means you can not change your mind right after doing it and hit CTRL Z to reverse the move.
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4520 Posts
  • 1707 Reply Likes
Jim is correct, it means the Undo command won't work. You can manually move things again.
Photo of Jon Kreski

Jon Kreski

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
If you copy and then delete via the OS, what becomes of all the Lightroom data files - previews, pointers, database files, etc. that are not the image files?    Do you delete them after the copy process?  Or do they need to be copies as well?  Do these become orphaned and then re-created and if so is there some way to delete them?  Wondering about the unintended consequence of creation of disorganization while organizing photo files and folders.
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4484 Posts
  • 1678 Reply Likes
You just reconnect LR's records with the new location: https://www.lightroomqueen.com/move-photos-another-hard-drive-leaving-catalog/
Photo of Steve Clark

Steve Clark

  • 19 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
For what it's worth, I've moved hundreds of thousands of images around using LR and not the OS and can only think of one instance. IMO it's way easier to let LR do the move and know all my catalog-data for the image are safe rather than having to remember to do it twice, once in the OS then relink the files in LR.

However, I advise never turning off the 'move files' warning or else you may find yourself ocassionally accidentally moving images to some mystery folder on your way dragging them to some collection, only to find that you can't undo. Haha.
Photo of Antoine Hlmn

Antoine Hlmn

  • 276 Posts
  • 78 Reply Likes
Agreed, that's something I've had too

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.