Mark to republish wants to upload everything

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 10 months ago
I am using the Facebook Publish service to upload to an album. The first time it worked perfekt. But when I added a file to the photos in the Facebook plugin the service want to upload all photos in the album again telling me I need to delete the duplicates. This is not want I wanted. I just wanted the new photo to upload and nothing else.

Then in my frustration I selected "Mark to republish" and now Lightroom Classic wants to again upload all photos again. I don't dare to accept that since I guess all my Facebook friends will get notifications that I have added photos, which is not true.

How do I:
1. "Uncheck" the Mark to publish so I do not have to upload all photos again?
2. Add just one photo to a Facebook album publish service and upload just that single photo without having to upload all photos in the album again?
Photo of Mats Skoglund

Mats Skoglund

  • 10 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes

Posted 10 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Sunil Bhaskaran

Sunil Bhaskaran, Official Rep

  • 321 Posts
  • 111 Reply Likes
Ideally, when you add a new photo, only that photo would be displayed as "New Photos to Publish." 
So, when you publish, only that photo gets published. If you modify/edit a photo, that photo would be displayed as "Modified Photos to Re-Publish." In this case, while publishing, you will override the photo already published. 

It's working as expected for me.
Does the problem persists?
Could you please let us know your operating system and Lightroom version you are using?
Were you using this feature before?

Thanks,
Sunil
Photo of Mats Skoglund

Mats Skoglund

  • 10 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Thanks for the reply.

I get a message that "Replacing a photo/video is not possible from within Lightroom. so the updated photo/video will be uploaded and the old version can be deleted through the browser...".

If I want to replace a photo this means that I upload a new photo and need to delete the previous one manually?

That  means that my facebook friends will think I have added a new photo even though I just for example wanted to replace an existing photo to e.g. change the resolution or edit some metadata. That's annoying since I often learn new things and want to change existing photos without notifying my followers.

Also, if I select "Mark to Republish" that will also upload all photos again and I need to manually delete the existing ones, and it will probably also notify my followers that something has happended, even though I just want to tidy up things and not make a fuzz about it?

I am using 7.0.1 on Windows.
(Edited)
Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 1395 Posts
  • 565 Reply Likes
Two things need to be separated here:
1: Facebook does not allow you to replace an existing image in an album. You have to add a new image and delete the old one. For that reason Lightroom cannot do this either and there is nothing Adobe can do about that.
2: Lightroom has the nasty habit of sometimes wanting the republish an image for no apparent reason. That can be very annoying, especially for the Facebook publishing service. I use the 'bag-o-goodies' plugin from Jeffrey Friedl to solve this: http://regex.info/blog/lightroom-good...
Photo of Carlos Cardona

Carlos Cardona

  • 284 Posts
  • 51 Reply Likes
Same thing happens to me in the Flickr plugin. I go to publish a few shots, I drag/drop them to Flickr plugin, then it wants to republish EVERYTHING! MacOS 10.12.6, Adobe Lightroom Classic [1140024 ]. Sometimes an OS reboot fixes it, sometimes not.