LR Classic: Duplicates when syncing

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 11 months ago
I've tested a sample catalog with LR Classic.
I've synced a test collection containing only one raw photo to the cloud (LR mobile).
As it's been the case with previous version of LR mobile, a smart preview is uploaded to the cloud.
Now if you add that same photo to LR CC (not Classic), then you get the full raw file to be uploaded. Then, next time you sync LR Classic with LR mobile, it downloads the raw file back to the local LR mobile location specified in LR mobile preferences, and adds it to LR Classic catalog: you can see it either in the "From LR mobile" collection or in "All synced photographs".
So, in the end, your same photo appears twice in LR classic, but in reality, they are duplicates located in different places of your local machine. Both are raw files.
If you go in LR CC, you also see the photo twice, but one is a raw and the second one is only a smart preview.
Quite confusing.
My conclusion is that I should not use LR Classic and LR CC together to manage the same photos.
I only did the test for one photo. Imagine someone who would migrate a whole LR classic catalog to LR CC, then keep on using both. What a mess it would be!
I believe there should be a way to set selective sync in both LR classic and LR CC.
Did I miss something or could someone suggest me a better solution?
Photo of Antoine Naudet

Antoine Naudet

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 11 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Arjun Haarith

Arjun Haarith, Employee

  • 92 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Hi Antoine,

Were there any changes that you made to the assets ?
Suppose in Lr Classic you have made edits and synced the file. Now in LrCC you import the same file (so that it uploads original). Are there any edit differences between these two files ?
If yes, then  a Virtual copy will be created in LrClassic and is referenced to the original image. 
However the original image is not downloaded in Lr classic, as the VC is referenced to the original image.

Please let me know if this is what you are seeing.

Thanks,
Arjun
Photo of Asif Patel

Asif Patel

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi, 

I have noticed the same issue, I migrated my LR Classic catalog to Lightroom CC.. but now all the images in my lightroom CC have synced back to Lightroom classic as virtual copies, but duplicated my whole catalog.. what a mess.. I'm not sure what to do to be honest.

The virtual copies show the edit changes i made in LR CC, but the original raw file does not show this change. So if i delete the virtual copy, will that undo my changes in lightroom CC?

Quite confusing..
Photo of Arjun Haarith

Arjun Haarith, Employee

  • 91 Posts
  • 23 Reply Likes
Hi Asif,

We require more information on your workflow :
Have you migrated a catalog that was already synced earlier ? Or did you migrate a different catalog with the same assets ?

For eg :
You have a personal catalog (A) that was synced to cloud from Lr Classic. 
Did you create a new catalog (B) in Classic by importing the images from Catalog (A), and migrate catalog (B) to LRCC ?

The virtual copies show the edit changes i made in LR CC, but the original raw file does not show this change.
FYI :
Was your original image synced to cloud earlier ? If not, then the edits that were made in LRCC on the same image would have gone to cloud.
Now when sync is enabled in Lrclassic, this particular image with edits (from LrCC) will be synced down to LrClassic. When it syncs down, it detects that there is already a master image present in the catalog. Hence it creates a virtual copy with the edits( from LRCC), and original image is left as it is. Basically VC just references to the original image. 

Thanks,
Arjun
Photo of Asif Patel

Asif Patel

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Arjun, 

so my workflow was like this:

I had Catalog A in LIghtroom Classic - I created collections of my folders in Catalog A - I migrated this catalog to lightroom CC using the migrate function. 

This i believe imported all my raw files into LR CC and then uploaded all the raw files to Creative Cloud ( I have the 1TB Plan). The collections became albums in LR CC.

After making some edits in LR CC, I found these were not syncing back to LR Classic as is suggested on the adobe website.

I contacted Adobe support, and they switched on the 'Sync with Lightroom Mobile' option within LR Classic Catalog A.

Since doing that, LR Classic imported all the albums from LR CC back in to LR Classic - however, doing so, it replaced the original raw file in the collection, with Virtual copies in the collection.

It then uploaded all my raw files back into LR CC as smart previews.

Now in Lightroom Classic I have same number of photos as I originally did in my collections, however in my folders, I have 1 raw file and 1 virtual copy of each image.

In LR CC, I have one original raw file and 1 smart preview of each image.

In effect, everything has been duplicated.

All I wanted to achieve was that when I make a change in LR CC, it would come back to LR Classic and make the same change there to the raw file (I dont want a virtual copy).

Any help here would be great.

Thanks

Asif
Photo of Antoine Naudet

Antoine Naudet

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Sorry, I was busy this week, and haven't had a chance to follow this topic and reply to Arjun. However, my first operation described above was done without changing anything to the assets, neither metadata in the library module, nor settings in development module. The results are exactly what I described. In LR Classic, I did not end into virtual copies, but two actual references: one is pointing to the original location where I use to store all my assets, and the second one is pointing to the location where LR Classic has downloaded the same raw from the cloud (set in LR Classic preferences>"Lightroom CC" tab>"location" group).