Lightroom Classic: Asked to upgrade my catalog, upgraded and all recent photos from Nov 2019+ are gone

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Not a Problem
  • (Edited)
I opened up my Lr classic this morning. Box popped up to upgrade my catalog. I hit upgrade. When Lightroom opened, the most recent photos it shows is from Nov 2019. All of my photos I have edited since Nov 2019 until now are not in the catalog. I have done backups regularly since nov 2019. 

I have not done anything else for fear of screwing it up further. Please looking for advice on what I should do next.  

EDIT: I opened Lightroom catalog-2 and all my photos are there. Is it okay I just continue to use this non-upgraded catalog???? The upgraded version it created was Lightroom Catalog-3. Sorry I'm not very knowledgeable on how Lr catalogs work.
Photo of Katie Kieley Chen

Katie Kieley Chen

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • sad & anxious

Posted 3 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Carlos Cardona

Carlos Cardona

  • 790 Posts
  • 151 Reply Likes
Yes, use the -2 catalog. You didn't tell the whole story, the "upgrade request" only happens when you upgrade the software (in a major upgrade). Did you do that, right before it asked to upgrade?
Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 2969 Posts
  • 1270 Reply Likes
That's indeed an idea, but then you still have to remember to change the shortcut when a catalog upgrade has been carried out, because your shortcut would still point to the old catalog...
Photo of Ruurd van Dijk

Ruurd van Dijk

  • 61 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
The setting in Lr which catalog to open by default is automatically changed after a catalog upgrade. Maybe better to trust on that...
Photo of Philippe Coudé du Foresto

Philippe Coudé du Foresto

  • 97 Posts
  • 34 Reply Likes
@Johan : Agreed, but after an upgrade I used to change the name of the catalog to reflect the LR version (something like "My_Catalog-v9.lrcat") so I never forget to update the shortcut !
And BTW, having the request to upgrade although it's already done would be a warning that would remind to update the shortcut.
(Edited)
Photo of Katie Kieley Chen

Katie Kieley Chen

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you so much Johan!!! You are correct!! I used lightroom yesterday with my correct catalog file -2 and I noticed it seems Lr reset all my preferences! So what you said makes complete sense. It's like Lr was opening for the first time. What a relief. I had a moment of freaking out yesterday thinking I somehow lost all the edits I have done since November. 
Photo of Katie Kieley Chen

Katie Kieley Chen

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thank you so much Johan!!! You are correct!! I used lightroom yesterday with my correct catalog file -2 and I noticed it seems Lr reset all my preferences! So what you said makes complete sense. It's like Lr was opening for the first time. What a relief. I had a moment of freaking out yesterday thinking I somehow lost all the edits I have done since November. 
Photo of Ruurd van Dijk

Ruurd van Dijk

  • 61 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Some more info. The Catalog you are using is stated in the window-titlebar. You can configure Lightroom (Settings) to always open a specific Catalog.