Lightroom CC: Deleted all of my originals!!!

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
Last week, I got back from a trip and wanted to share some of my photos.  My lightroom cloud was near full, so I needed to make room.  I did not want to delete my files on my computer, just off of the cloud.  So I went to the lightroom.adobe.com and deleted a few.  I went back and checked and they were still on my computer.  I have selected "save originals when importing" in Lightroom CC and purposely selected an external drive, to have an extra set of photos saved.  When I saw it just deleted the photos off of the cloud and not on my computer, I went ahead and deleted them all.  Things looked good.  I add new the photos and let them sync up to the cloud.  When I came back to my computer, hours later, I came to find LIGHTROOM CC DELETED ALL OF THE ORIGINALS of the photos I deleted online, off the external drive!!!!!  I can not find them anywhere, not in the Recycle Bin, not anywhere!   Can anyone help?

 

I find this highly odd and very frustrating that Adobe would have an option to Save the original to a separate location and then wipe them out!  This gives a false sense of security!  Let alone, that Adobe can go in and delete files from my computer!
Photo of YetiMan

YetiMan

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 8 months ago

  • 2
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 5544 Posts
  • 1166 Reply Likes
Greetings Yetiman, 

Can you email to me the date this happened and your Adobe ID to: 


Photo of Javier Delgado Esteban

Javier Delgado Esteban

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Have had exactly the same problem just today, deleting some of my images on the iPhone accidentally deleted all my images everywhere it seems, is there any way of recovering them?
Photo of Javier Delgado Esteban

Javier Delgado Esteban

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I seem to have been able to restore them from the web app, maybe it would be a good idea if the desktop and mobile app also have access to the trash can
Photo of dmeephd

dmeephd

  • 300 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
If this incident is indeed true, then it's another damn good reason why I have not and will not participate in the figment of Adobes' imagination called the Creative Cloud.  I moved to LR8 Classic CC due to accessory hardware changes, namely Loupedeck+, but I do not have LR CC installed and never will.

Caveat: I do sync a folder of 'kicker' images from one select folder to LR on my iPad and iPhone, but that's the extent of it.  These are to show friends, clients, and models some of my portfolio.

Unfortunately for YetiMan, if these images are not recoverable, then he just learned a painful lesson that most of us have learned eventually:  Backup.  Backup.  Backup.
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 5544 Posts
  • 1166 Reply Likes
Thank you Yetiman.  I received your email and forwarded it to the team for review. 
Photo of YetiMan

YetiMan

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Thank you for your help
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 5544 Posts
  • 1166 Reply Likes
Official Response
Some notes on Lightroom CC functionality

The Lightroom CC Ecosystem is tightly integrated across all clients.  Your managed library, the original photo files, and any work you’ve done on the files are available to all clients: Desktop, Mobile and Web.  When you perform any operation on one client it syncs to all the other clients.  That is the nature of “your photos - everywhere”.  The same holds true with deleting photos. When you delete within the Lightroom CC ecosystem, you are deleting everywhere.  That is why we put up the big scary messages to let you know this and ask you to confirm.

In the Lightroom CC desktop application, there is a preferences option to “Store a copy of all originals at a specified location”. When checked it downloads a copy of all your original photo files.  There is also the ability to select any album and invoke the “Store Album Locally” option.  It is very important to note that these are not ‘backups’ but rather user-selected options to allow you to have access to the original files if you are going to be offline or if your internet connection is too slow to download images on-demand.  When you choose to remove a file from your managed library, you are removing it from everywhere and that will also include those ‘stored locally’ images.  The time it takes to sync changes from one device to another device may make it appear like this is not happening but if you allow sync to run its course you will see that when you delete it will delete from everywhere.

Having said all that, your confusion on this point is 100 percent understandable, and clearly we need to make some changes on our end.

We are reviewing the warnings we provide when you delete a photo to make certain that they are as clear as possible. We are also looking at options in the future to help customers easily recover files if they accidentally delete something they didn’t mean to delete.  In the meantime, we have recovered all of the files that were deleted in this case, I believe you have already received an email on that topic.  Please do reach out to us if you have any issues with the recovered files.”
Photo of YetiMan

YetiMan

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Thank you to Rikk Flohr and the Adobe Team, for helping me with this problem.  He was is a huge asset to Adobe and a great resource.  Please read his reply and let it be a lesson to us all.


Thanks again Rikk!