Lightroom 4.1: I deleted all my photos in a directory

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • (Edited)
Using Adobe Photoshop Lightroom V4.1 64 Bit on Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit (all service packs) and a file directory of 673 photos (4.15GB) I encountered the following problem:
After conditioning approx. 300 photos in one session at the software area evaluation module I tried to delete one photo with the command
"Erase also original file on hard disk".
After executing this command the complete original directory on hard disk was empty, all photos lost and all photo conditioning restrictions in Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 4 were lost as well!
Lightroom 4.1 was still running, but all datas were gone.

I made a Microsoft hard disk check and the Microsoft report told, that the hard disk was fully o.k.

I am using Lightroom since version 1 and I never encountered such an fatal software failure.

Due to safety copies of the original files I could start up by zero again.
But now I am exporting photos always after a small improvement process.
Photo of Michael Ruetgers

Michael Ruetgers

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of jdv

jdv, Champion

  • 728 Posts
  • 55 Reply Likes
Sounds like you use folders to managed images, and you had a directory selected And it sounds like you once dismissed a "are you sure you want to do this" dialogue and told it to never bother you again with the same message. Might be worth resetting those dialogues in the prefs.

Note that Lightroom never simply unlinks those images -- they would be trashed. So you should have checked your trash/recycle bin. What your OS does with trash under different circumstances is another thing, of course.

It is a much better workflow to mark an image as "rejected" (use the "x" key) and then regularly purge them form the catalogue. This way, you will see exactly what it is doing when you delete images from the catalogue and from the disk.