Lightroom Classic 9: Export dialog behavior changed: cancelling looses all settings!

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
In Lightroom, versions prior 9 the Export dialog had a very convenient behavior: any settings changed were retained, regardless of the fact that Cancel or X (close) was clicked. Now, in v9 this has been changed, so Cancelling the dialog looses all settings!

The behavior before v9 was very convenient and somehow designed with the right intent: one may forget to do further adjustments to the files being exported, so the export procedure must be postponed...

The behavior in the current version, v9 is quite unusable. Ok, if Cancel means cancelling all settings, then let the user retain the settings made already (chosing export location, file type, size, etc) so please add a third button: 'Close dialog for now' (or something similar, clearly understandable). Clicking this button should retain the settings but should not start the export procedure.
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes

Posted 8 months ago

  • 2
Photo of John MacLean

John MacLean

  • 136 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
Did you make an export preset of your settings?
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
The problem isn't related to presets...
Photo of John MacLean

John MacLean

  • 136 Posts
  • 19 Reply Likes
I was suggesting that if you saved an export preset that you wouldn't lose your settings.
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
I see, but presets aren't suitable for that. Regarding the frequent changes in the Export dialog, I would quickly have hundreds of presets... :-(
Photo of Just Shot Me

Just Shot Me

  • 523 Posts
  • 142 Reply Likes
Actually for many versions, as far back as I can remember and I've been using LR since version one, if you made changes to the export dialog and then did NOT do an export, in other words Canceled the export, those settings you changed are NEVER retained. The dialog is reset to what it was for the last time you actually did an export.
Only if you actually went through with that export are the settings you changed retained.
So what you are seeing is the normal behavior as far as I'm concerned.
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
You remember wrong, or didn't checked the behavior at all...
I still have LR 8.4.1 on my laptop and I double checked the behavior again. Yes, the Export dialog keeps the settings AFTER hitting CANCEL.
If you don't believe this or don't remember well, an older version may be installed easily and may be checked.
Photo of Smit K

Smit K, Employee

  • 276 Posts
  • 140 Reply Likes
Hi,

Lightroom Classic never stored the export settings after cancelling the Export dialog. There has been no change in v9.0 around this. This is more of an idea than a problem. Converting this to an idea.
Photo of Bruce Houstoun

Bruce Houstoun

  • 124 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
I am able to reproduce the behaviour of LR keeping the previous export settings using LR 5.7.1 on my Win10 Laptop and LR 2015.14 on my Win10 desktop after an export cancel.

On both devices LR 9.0 however does not keep the settings after cancelling an export.
(I did not roll back to 8.4.1 to check but can if further testing is needed?)
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
Smit K, please change the thread back to 'Problem'. Thank you!
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 7515 Posts
  • 1721 Reply Likes
It is correctly categorized as an Idea as you are asking for a change to As-designed behavior. 
Photo of Just Shot Me

Just Shot Me

  • 520 Posts
  • 142 Reply Likes
Rick in LR 5, which I still have installed, it does retain the settings change if you Cancel the export dialog.
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
It isn't categorized correctly as idea!
The expected behavior has been changed into worse one.
I'm not asking for change. I'm asking to restore the original behavior of the Export dialog!
Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 2897 Posts
  • 1246 Reply Likes
Sounds like the current behavior is more logical and more consistent with other applications. If you cancel something, you cancel something. It only makes sense that any changes you made in the dialog just before you cancelled are also cancelled.

That is what happens in most other applications too, including in Lightroom. Try this: Choose 'Export' and click on a preset or change some settings. Click 'Cancel' and choose 'Export' again. The original settings are still active, not what you just changed in the Export dialog before you hit 'Cancel'. Or did that change too compared to previous versions?...
(Edited)
Photo of Just Shot Me

Just Shot Me

  • 523 Posts
  • 142 Reply Likes
Johan you remember, Think, the same as I do. There was times when replying to someones post that I would always said "You Have to Actually Export Something for the settings you changed to stick". "If you cancel the changes you made will revert to what they were before you made those changes"
Last night when reading the reply by the OP to my first reply I tested this on LR 5. In LR 5 if you change settings in the Export dialog then Cancel then Re-Open the Export dialog the setting you changed stay the way you had set them the last time even though you hit the Cancel Button. 
It was strange as I never remember that happening before. For me my memory recalls it just I stated in my first reply and the way you stated in the reply above.
So if anything Adobe changed the export settings Stick/Not Stick when canceling sometime before LR 5 and then changed it back to the way you and I remember it with LR 9.
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
LR should keep the way it was working before version 9, the 'Cancel' button should be renamed to 'Close'
Photo of VR VR

VR VR

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Absolutely agree!  Looks like I won't be 'upgrading' to v9 any time soon, the new features are nowhere near as important as the Export settings being 'sticky'.   <rant> why do developers think they know better than their users?
(Edited)
Photo of Just Shot Me

Just Shot Me

  • 523 Posts
  • 142 Reply Likes
I will load LR 4.4 on my old notebook tonight, if it isn't already on there, and do a test.
But IIRC the way it is now, If you hit the cancel button on the Export dialog window any settings you change get lost (go back to the way there were set the last time you actually exported something).
That is how I always remember it. What you supposedly saw in some previous version (and what I saw in LR 5 on my Win 10 system) is not the way I remember it. So either at some point after LR 4 Adobe changed that or it has something to do with the OS it is installed on.
Photo of Smit K

Smit K, Employee

  • 276 Posts
  • 140 Reply Likes
We are looking into this.
Photo of Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

Jozsef Szasz-Fabian

  • 59 Posts
  • 12 Reply Likes
Please consider a third, "Close" button that saves the dialog's information.
The "Cancel" button can sit there and hitting it should cancel all changes, it's standard behavior.
Thank you!
(Edited)
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 7535 Posts
  • 1726 Reply Likes
Updates to Lightroom Classic, Camera Raw, and the Lightroom Ecosystem were released yesterday and contain a fix for this issue.  Please install the appropriate update and see if it solves this problem. You can read more about the updates here.

Thank you for your patience.