Lightroom: undo image deletion

  • 6
  • Idea
  • Updated 5 years ago

This conversation has been merged. Please reference the main conversation: Lightroom: Cannot undo delete

Not a big deal to those who are diligent about saving xmp, but for those who spend several hours editing, then inadvertently delete a bunch of edited images: big deal.

Reminder: the default setting in Lightroom is auto-write xmp: disabled - which I think is good. But too many newbies don't understand about xmp and manual saving and end up high and dry after spending the day navigating the waters...

Bonus Idea:
Ship Lr with a tutorial that must be viewed until user can convince Lr he/she understands the basics (e.g. via checkbox), including xmp.

Photo of Rob Cole

Rob Cole

  • 4831 Posts
  • 370 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 6
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 3608 Posts
  • 1144 Reply Likes
Like a 'recently deleted' collection? I could go for that.
Photo of Rob Cole

Rob Cole

  • 4831 Posts
  • 370 Reply Likes
That would do it. Even if the photos themselves were actually put in the recycle bin, the settings would be preserved, so even if user had to manually restore from recycle bin, once files are reconnected to photos, all will be as it were...
Photo of Dorin Nicolaescu-Musteață

Dorin Nicolaescu-Musteață, Champion

  • 703 Posts
  • 38 Reply Likes
Just for your information... Currently, if you simply remove from catalog, without deleting the file, undo is available until you close Lightroom.

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.