How do I remove Lightroom Mobile?

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • (Edited)
Lightroom Mobile.....How to remove it. I dont want it, I didnt ask for it, it was in an update. No matter how Adobe pushes Cloud, I will never use it. I have been using Lightroom since it came out, great product...up until now. Personally I would rather use crappy GIMP then be forced to use something that I dont want. I want Mobile removed from my Lightroom, at the very least completely disabled.

In addition to this, I have spent more then 2 hours on hold with Adobe today. I am MASSIVELY DISAPPOINTED.
Photo of Einarr Aldrhund

Einarr Aldrhund

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Steve Sprengel

Steve Sprengel, Champion

  • 2611 Posts
  • 333 Reply Likes
What are you talking about?

Lightroom Mobile is an iOS app that would run on a iPad.

There is a sync portion that resides on a Mac or PC to upload from your LR catalog to Adobe Cloud.

Which of these items are you referring to as Lightroom Mobile?

And you shouldn't have LR Mobile unless you are signed up for CC. Are you?
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4104 Posts
  • 1468 Reply Likes
If you don't sign in on the desktop, sync IS disabled and you're not using it.


If you want to hide the identity plate from the user interface, go to the Identity Plate settings under the Edit menu on Windows (I think?) or the Lightroom menu on Mac and change it to a different setting.
(Edited)
Photo of Roland Sax

Roland Sax

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
have to same problem. when i got rid off the Getting Started window of Lightroom Mobile and Change Identity Plate, the next time i restart LR the Getting Started windows pops up again....very annoying? any help?
Photo of Chris Cox

Chris Cox

  • 20280 Posts
  • 812 Reply Likes
This is a great conversation that's completely different from the main topic, so I created a new topic to continue the discussion. Please reference the new topic here: Lightroom Mobile: the annoying Getting Started window appears every time I launch...
Photo of Ricky Maestas

Ricky Maestas

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Not a fan of whatever Lightroom Mobile is either. Pop-ups are mildly annoying every time I open a new catalog. I click the x to close the pop-up and get a system message about one catalog being synced at a time when I never actively synced a catalog to begin with.
Great that Adobe is developing silly new features for professional applications but maybe a clear way to opt-out is needed for those who could care less.
Photo of john beardsworth

john beardsworth

  • 993 Posts
  • 217 Reply Likes
If you don't know what it is, how can you not want it?

Let's see a couple of ways I've used this silly little feature recently.... Shooting tethered while a client in another town reviewed the new pictures in their web browser. This is because 6's tethering dialog now lets me send new frames directly to a collection synced with LrMobile. They were choosing pictures on their screen (but it could have been an iPad or phone), sending us comments, and I was making crops and adjustments that the client could see within a few moments. Silly little feature, eh?

Maybe take time to try to discover how it can benefit you, or just ask if you don't understand its clear messages?
Photo of Ricky Maestas

Ricky Maestas

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
That's awesome that you have found a good use for Lightroom Mobile. I know that it has the word mobile in it and that that has absolutely no value to me or my work, and that is how I know that I have no use for something when I don't know what that something is.

I don't need to know what ISIS' agenda is for me to know that I want nothing to do with it because I know what ISIS is and can say with certainty that I want nothing to do with it. Easy as that. I also knew that I had absolutely no use for the social media panel as well without having to take the time to understand it because what it has the words social and media in it and that has no value to me.

I don't think I was criticizing the feature, apart from calling it silly, as much as its implementation. As far, as I can see there is no obvious way to stop the pop-up dialogues. I apparently and unknowingly synced one of my catalogs with whatever Lightroom Mobile is I believe because that is the pop-up's default. Generally I'd like to know when I'm doing something before I do it.

I don't need to take the time to discover this new feature because what I do doesn't have anything to do with mobile phones. So that is time better spent doing the work I need to do the way I have been doing it. It's a waste of time trying to figure out how to disable this feature, but it's almost annoying enough to take the time. I doubt my client will be paying me for the taking that time.
Photo of john beardsworth

john beardsworth

  • 993 Posts
  • 217 Reply Likes
The LrMobile feature isn't just about mobile phones.... The workflow I described didn't have a mobile phone anywhere. It could have done - we could have had an art director seeing new shots while he was stuck in a taxi, and another guy sitting on the top of a mountain - ie multiple remote viewing sessions. But the client was sat in their office with a colour managed 30" screen. Sure, we're all so busy we don't take the time to try new things....

OK, I see that message on the occasions I create a new catalogue. Its meaning is clear and I know what to do. Takes about a second. If it happened so often it bugged me? Well, I'd ask myself why I was creating so many catalogues and fragmenting control of my work.
Photo of Ricky Maestas

Ricky Maestas

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Sounds like it's working out for you. In fact, you've sold me, I'll start using this service and tell my clients to get their TVs, smartphones, tablets, and whatever else ready and wait for them to respond with "just FTP the files please."
I get what you're saying, don't knock it until you've tried it. But a vegetarian doesn't need to try a BLT to know they don't want bacon. In other words, I don't need it nor want it. So it would have been nice if there were a clearer way to disable it from the beginning. The pop-up is not clear to me, maybe it's my caveman mind. A yes or no toggle and an X to close the dialogue. As I mentioned it said I have one catalog already synced, I do not recall doing this. Again, it is not clear to me and I do not want to take the time to understand it in order to disable it.
As far as my workflow and how many catalogs I have, I delivered 65,000 images last year. Seeing how I have the same clients this year, I'm going to have to go ahead and assume that the way I organize is just fine. When I start to lose clients, I find you so you can teach me to work exactly the way you do.
Photo of john beardsworth

john beardsworth

  • 993 Posts
  • 217 Reply Likes
Sure, those are the kinds of volumes my clients typically work with, and people usually learn when they're shown how Lightroom works best. As a vegetarian, I might not want to cook kidneys but can imagine that plate would taste good if I tried, and open-minded people don't think that an English language school might be a terrorist group just because its name includes Isis. Cavemen figured out new tools, adapted and prospered.

Adobe now sell two Lightrooms. 6 comes without mobile, CC with it.