Lightroom Mobile Lockdown Mode

  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 2 months ago
Merged

This conversation has been merged. Please reference the main conversation: Lightroom mobile: Disable button for Rating and Editing - View only mode

In Lightroom Mobile, I would like to have an option to switch on a "lockdown mode" so the user can only view and share/export pictures but make no changes whatsoever (i.e. no photo adjustments, no flags, no ratings, no renaming of albums, and no moving, adding or removing of photos from albums).

The reason behind this feature request is that I manage all the photos taken by me AND my wife in the same library. I import the photos my wife takes on her iPhone to our Lightroom Classic CC library on my Mac (through Lightroom Mobile's auto-import feature) and I do the same for the photos I take with my iPhone and my mirrorless camera.

Then I sync some collections to Lightroom CC so we both have access to these photos on our mobile devices in the Lightroom Mobile app. All my wife wants to do with them is to view and share them. However, it happened a couple of times in the past that she was changing something (e.g. giving a photo a star rating) and that messed up our system. Now she's scared to use the Lightroom Mobile app for that reason. With a "lockdown mode" that could be turned on the the app settings, this problem would be resolved.
Photo of five.photos

five.photos

  • 8 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 3
Photo of Andre Weinand

Andre Weinand

  • 5 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Yes, this feature is really needed! I've requested this already some time ago.
One workaround is to use the "Slideshow" mode  where all edit operations are disabled.
But it is still too easy to forget enabling this mode...

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.