Lightroom Desktop: How can I delete the pictures in Lightroom and at the same time from my hard disk?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
most of the time i take a lot of pictures. 
now my struggle is this.

first im import al the pictures from my camera to a external hhd.
then i import it to LR CC.
i select the good and the bad ones.
The bad ones im delete from lightroom to safe space.
but on my hard disk i got al the pictures the good and the bad ones.
is there a way that when you delete the bad ones from lR CC that it also delete the selected ones on your hhd?
Photo of Dylan Helstone

Dylan Helstone

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Suzanne Mathia

Suzanne Mathia

  • 20 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
I would add all the images to lightroom interface and mark them as picks or rejects or leave them blank. Permanently DELETE the ones you totally rejected. Lightroom does not copy your images. They only live on your hard drive not INSIDE lightroom
Photo of Dylan Helstone

Dylan Helstone

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
and this is for lightroom classic , or the cloud version, because i use the cloud version and when i mark them and delete it. it only delete in lightroom
Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 2897 Posts
  • 1246 Reply Likes
If you first copy the images to your hard drive, and then import them in Lightroom (cloud), then Lightroom will upload the images to the cloud. The original images on the hard drive will have no connection anymore to Lightroom. To Lightroom the originals are now in the cloud, not on your hard drive. That means that whatever you do with the images in Lightroom will not have any effect on the copies that are still on your hard drive.
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 449 Posts
  • 174 Reply Likes
When adding images, either direct from memory card or from a hard drive, Lightroom initially copies them to its own different location on a hard drive. It does that to ensure that it has control over the images until it has uploaded them to the cloud, after which Lightroom's interim copy will become eligible for eventual automatic removal (which depends on other Lightroom preference settings). 

So if you first copy from card to hard drive, then add (import) to Lightroom, at the end of the import stage there will be TWO copies of those files on hard drive.....Lightroom ignores the original user copy, it only manages the second Lightroom-specific copy.