Lightroom for mobile: Manual option to delete local copies

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 10 months ago
  • (Edited)
Dear all,My idea is to add an option to manually delete local copies in Lightroom for Mobile.Today we already have an option to clear the cache (useful to delete photo icons and Smart Previews) but not for manual copies.Let me give you a concrete example with my current workflow. At the end of the day I downloaded all my RAW files on my iPad and synchronize the files to the Cloud. Once synchronization is done it would make sense to delete the files locally on the iPad and work only with the Smart Previews to save space.Lightroom for mobile is supposed to take care about it automatically but in some cases take the control back could prove to be useful.Let’s take another example: I come back from a photo tour and my iPad is full of original RAW photos downloaded on the move, perfect. The day after I plan to take a plane and I want to downlaod a serie from let’s say Netflix on the iPad to watch it offline. As the space is filled up by Lightroom Netflix will complain that it doesn’t have enough space and LIghtroom will probably keep the local copies as they are fresh and edited recently. As I would have synchronized the RAW files with Adobe cloud at home it would be great to erase those local copies manually just after the synchronization. Please let me know what you think about this idea!Thanks and best regards,Arnauld
Photo of Arnauld Le Carbonnier

Arnauld Le Carbonnier

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • Confdent

Posted 10 months ago

  • 1
Photo of steve reid

steve reid

  • 45 Posts
  • 18 Reply Likes
I thought It deleted the original within Lightroom once they were synced to the cloud , and clear cache makes sure this happens too?
Photo of Arnauld Le Carbonnier

Arnauld Le Carbonnier

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
If you delete the original in Lightroom for Mobile once they are synced they are also deleted in Creative Cloud as far as I know.
Photo of Josh Haftel

Josh Haftel, Employee

  • 29 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
If you import images into Lr Mobile and have the "Only download Smart Previews" option set within the Cloud settings, you will get exactly what you want.

Once the file is imported and uploaded the original will be purged and the smart preview will be used in its place. This is all done transparently and behind the scenes so you don't have to worry about it :)
Photo of Arnauld Le Carbonnier

Arnauld Le Carbonnier

  • 12 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hello Josh,
I know and like the fact that Lightroom can do it automatically. :)
My point is that in some cases I would like to be able to do it manually.
As you can already clear the cache manually it would make sense to be able to handle local copies.
Thanks.
BR,
Arnauld