Lightroom Classic: Tethering - Save a Copy To Camera that is UNTICKED by default

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
I'm now on release 8.0 of Lightroom Classic CC and the tethering menu has a new option at the bottom of the dialogue window - Save a Copy To Camera that is UNTICKED by default.

This has caused me a catastrophic failure in the studio this morning with a client shoot.
An ABSURD decision to turn OFF something which has been ON by default for years.

I am now left with a bunch of JPGS on my laptop AND NO RAW FILES to work with.
WHY WOULD YOU TURN THIS OFF ????????


HOW ????? How does something as ridiculous as this get past the testing ?????

Adobe you have utterly screwed me this morning.

Thanks for absolutely nothing.
Photo of Matt Pereira

Matt Pereira

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • betrayed and annoyed

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4921 Posts
  • 1914 Reply Likes
8.1 has been out over a week, with a change to that default setting to make it default to on.
Photo of dmeephd

dmeephd

  • 300 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
A little bit too late, don't you think?

This kind of change of long-term behavior of the program without reason or warning has been endemic with Adobe Lightroom developers for years.  I swear that none of them know anything about actual photography in practice.  They probably don't own cameras—save for what's on their phones—and think that photography has got something to do with glass plates and rotten eggs.

Clearly, Adobe has no concept of User Acceptance Testing (UAT) performed before the program is released.  They let the users act as unpaid beta testers and losses to our work and livelihood are of no concern to them...only profits.
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4921 Posts
  • 1914 Reply Likes
It was a bug. There were extra people (from this forum) testing tethering this time, and still no one spotted it.
Photo of Matt Pereira

Matt Pereira

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I've calmed down a little now ... the update you referred to didn't turn it on for me either, it's still OFF. But at least I know for next time ... thanks for the reply Victoria.
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4921 Posts
  • 1914 Reply Likes
I'm sorry you had such a frustrating time Matt.
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 356 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
I am now left with a bunch of JPGS on my laptop AND NO RAW FILES to work with.
I'm trying to figure out how that could happen. If you shoot Jpeg only, then of course there'd only be Jpegs in Lightroom....but there would also only have been Jpegs on the memory card if you had seen and enabled that option. If you shoot Raw+Jpeg, then BOTH files would appear in Lightroom on capture (assuming the Preferences were set to "Treat JPEG files next to raw files as separate photos"). If that Preferences option was unchecked, then you would get the Raw+Jpeg "pair" appearing in Lightroom, which in reality means you could only work with the Raw file.

So the only way that I can figure, to get the situation of Jpegs in Lightroom with no Raw files anywhere, is either you shot Jpeg-only, OR you shot Raw + Jpeg and then deleted the Raw file from Lightroom when it appeared. Or am I missing something obvious here?
Photo of Matt Pereira

Matt Pereira

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Hey Jim,

So, first things first .. I didn't see the option - I was on autopilot. And the shoot was about to start.

My Camera is always set to Record RAW to CF card and Medium JPG to SD card, with the SD card being the 'playback' slot ... that is usually all I need to save RAW & JPG to my dual cards and jpg to the MacBokk, for clients to see ..

With the 'Save Copy to Camera' box unticked, I presume that JPGs only were what Lightroom read from camera and transferred to MacBook, leaving nothing on the cards.

Why you'd ever want to do that in a real life situation I don't know ... I am all for keeping multiple copies during a shoot until I know I have what I need.

So ... as it seems to have been marked as a bug, I can accept it should never have been unticked by default. It's still not ticked even with the updated v8.1, but now at least I know that's what I have to do on the next shoot ...

Sadly, it's an expensive mistake by me to trust the developers into whom I have ploughed thousands of pounds over the years ... and presumably nobody at Adobe will ever give a damn about what's happened to just one user who probably should have known better.
Photo of dmeephd

dmeephd

  • 300 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
Technically speaking, this is not a bug, it is a configuration error.  The behavior of the program is correct when the box is 'ticked' and when it is not 'ticked.'  Therefore, the user requirements were met.  No bug.

However, the users expect certain behavior learned over time based upon the settings and the various boxes which are 'ticked' or not 'ticjked' by default.  When Adobe fails to perform adequate and structured UAT—not a bunch of champions randomly executing steps in workflows; this is not structured testing—these configuration changes occur and no one is the wiser.

Until, of course, the end user gets burned.

Users should not be required to step through all of the menus, preferences, and settings every time Lightroom is upgraded...that's too much damn work—and this is Adobe's job, not ours.

The release notes must list each and every configuration change at the very least.  Then, if the user encounters unexpected bahavior and has not read the release notes, then the onus is on the user.  Of course, when was the last time Adobe published such detailed release notes?  Answer: before there was dirt.
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 15434 Posts
  • 2278 Reply Likes
For the record, the options are listed in the new feature notes: https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/help/whats-new.html
Photo of dmeephd

dmeephd

  • 300 Posts
  • 73 Reply Likes
And not a word in those notes about this change of configuration.  I rest my case.
Photo of Robert Somrak

Robert Somrak, Champion

  • 320 Posts
  • 109 Reply Likes
The reason I quickly noticed this was because the files coming into the computer were not named in the continuing sequence of the camera generated names but a different name starting at sequence 1.  I thought it was a bug but after a little investigation and turning on the "save to card" switch it resorted to the old camera naming sequence.  The naming was understandable as there is no camera generated name if not saving to card.  Agree is should have been turned on by default.  It would be better to have to erase them from the card if you didn't want them instead of not having them on the card.
(Edited)
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 356 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
My Camera is always set to Record RAW to CF card and Medium JPG to SD card, with the SD card being the 'playback' slot ... that is usually all I need to save RAW & JPG to my dual cards and jpg to the MacBokk, for clients to see ..
That's interesting. My normal configuration when using a dual-slot camera is for the same data to be written to both cards, i.e. instant backup. So if I tether using Raw+Jpeg I get both file-types appearing in the Grid, which is what I expect. But even if I was to change the camera configuration to shoot Raw to one card and Jpeg to the other, I would still expect to see both file-types appear in the grid when tethering. It would make no sense whatsoever, to me at least, if Lightroom (or the camera) only outputs one of the file-types, and the specific type being dependant upon which card slot is the designated "playback" card.

I'll try to reproduce that behaviour, and if I can it would definitely be worth a bug report as I can't see the logic in ignoring the global Raw+Jpeg option under certain conditions when tethering.