Lightroom CC: Photos remain after albums deleted

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • (Edited)
Long time LR classic user looking at LR CC; 2 questions.

I selected a few collections in LR classic and clicked "sync". The photos synced and I could see them in adobe.lightroom.com under "all photos" and in the albums (one LR CC album per LR classic collection).

In LR CC I then delete the albums. I would have thought the photos in the albums would also be deleted but they remain in LR CC.

Is it the case that
1. the photo gets uploaded
2. Its tagged with the album (metadata)
3. deleted the album simply removes the tag from the photo but the album remains?

And that I need to manually delete the photos for LRCC (and I assume that this does NOT affect the LR classic storage)?

TYIA!
Photo of Zigi Putnins

Zigi Putnins

  • 51 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 3855 Posts
  • 732 Reply Likes
Correct: Album deletion does not remove photos in Lightroom CC.  A photo can belong to many albums and you might not want it gone if you remove one of the Albums in which it currently resides. In any case you should have seen this warning message that explains that the photos will be left in the Lightroom CC (and the originating Lightroom Classic CC) catalog. 



Deleting the photos from Lightroom CC does not remove them from Lightroom Classic (provided they've finished syncing between the two clients).
Photo of Zigi Putnins

Zigi Putnins

  • 51 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
Rikk
Thanks.

I found two other unusual items. As before, i ha 've a photo created in lr classic. Syncd so it shows up in afobe.lightroom.com
1. I can edit the photo n adobe.lightroom.com and edits show up in lr classic.. But deleting the phito, the ultimate,edit, does not sync. But seems to be by design, corrwct?
2. Once the edit shows up in lr classic, i cant undo it in lr classic. Should i be able to?

Ty!
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 3649 Posts
  • 678 Reply Likes
Ref 1: Deleting on Mobile or the Cloud does not delete in Classic. 
Ref 2: Take a look at your History panel for the ability to step backwards past the mobile edits. 
Photo of Zigi Putnins

Zigi Putnins

  • 51 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
Rikk,
Thanks!
Regarding #2...in classic it simply says "from LR mobile", but does not say what the edit is.

My question is: in this situation, does Lightroom CC send the actual "what was done" (in this case, added a vignette")? seems this info is lost. If i like the edit, idon't have away to know what was done in LR Classic.

Zigi
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 3649 Posts
  • 678 Reply Likes
Generally, the edits from Lightroom for mobile show up as a single line in history. If multiple edits were conducted in the mobile environment, they sync to Desktop as a single entry and can't be individually extricated.