Lightroom CC: Error "Uh-oh! Lightroom CC needs to be restarted - You've deleted your catalog"

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 months ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
opened computer saw a bunch of alert windows open say LR had to be restarted there was some error logging into my account and my catalog had been deleted
Photo of Mack Closmore

Mack Closmore

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 339 Posts
  • 126 Reply Likes
Try quitting and restarting. I just encountered the same (incorrect) message, and a force-quit and restart was all that I needed to do.
Photo of Barry Young

Barry Young, Director of Engineering, Lightroom products

  • 66 Posts
  • 76 Reply Likes
Do you have a screenshot of the error?
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 339 Posts
  • 126 Reply Likes
This is a screenshot from my system, I'm assuming the OP's is the same:


Photo of Mike Abbott

Mike Abbott, Company Admin

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Mack (and others), we are actively looking into this.  Mack, have you restarted Lightroom?  And if so, does Lightroom CC launch ok after restart?  And do all of your photos show up ok after relaunching?
Photo of Julie Kmoch

Julie Kmoch, Sr. Development Manager

  • 103 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes
To update, we believe this is being triggered by a Mac OS update that is affecting Lightroom's connection to the local database file when the system goes to sleep. The message we're showing is scary and wrong. All reports we've gotten so far is that the app recovers on restart.
Photo of Valencia

Valencia

  • 14 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Very concerning error message: "You've deleted your catalog".

Today these very concerning dialog boxes appeared out of nowhere in LRCC-macOS:

"Uh-oh! Lightroom CC needs to be restarted. You've deleted your catalog."
(see screenshot below)

I left LRCC open during the night and was greeted by this error message when I logged back in  today.

I obviously did not delete anything.
Fortunately, my catalog was not deleted and all my photos appear to be still in my catalog.
My catalog is stored locally on my Macbook Pro's internal drive, so this is not a case of an external or network drive being temporarily disconnected or anything like that...

I am available to help in providing log files or additional debug info. Just contact me through here asap.
LRCC-macOS 1.5
macOS Mojave 10.14


Photo of Julie Kmoch

Julie Kmoch, Sr. Development Manager

  • 103 Posts
  • 40 Reply Likes
Official Response
I’d like to update this thread now that we better understand what went wrong.

We have error-handling logic in Lightroom CC that watches for the rare case where a customer might have chosen to delete their online catalog while Lightroom was running. Early on Oct. 6, one of our gateway servers rebooted, and for a very brief time it sent out a signal that provoked this error dialog in our app. Anyone who had left Lightroom CC running during that time saw this alarming message when they came back to their computer. No catalogs or photos were ever deleted. It was a bogus warning, and we sincerely apologize for the scare.

We’ve now made this bit of error handling more robust and changed the wording. And the server team is investigating their reboot protocol to make sure they come back online gracefully.
(Edited)