Lightroom 2015.8: Sorting Order changes randomly

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 year ago
Since the 2015.8 Update the "Sort by..."-Option changes randomly when i restart Lightroom.

Most of the time i sort my library by "Capture Timer". Since the update this Option changes randomly either to "Added Order" or "File Name" whenever i start Lightroom.
Photo of Andreas Hüttner

Andreas Hüttner

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 1 year ago

  • 2
Photo of Russell Cardwell

Russell Cardwell

  • 39 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes
That's been happening for me since at least Lightroom 5.0. Haven't heard of a solution. I just re-sort when that occurs.
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 3841 Posts
  • 1271 Reply Likes
Previous Import defaults to Added Order. Others should default to Capture Time, but each collection/folder remembers the last used setting. Is it possible that you're simply viewing a different folder, or is it literally a case that you set to Capture Time, quit LR and when you reopen, the view is set to something different?
Photo of Andreas Hüttner

Andreas Hüttner

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Actually it's the case that SOMETIMES when i quit LR an reopen it, the view is set to something different. Three out of four times it reopens with my usual view-settings, but then again it opens to either "Added Order" or "File Name".

I did two test runs today just to make sure i don't mess things up by myself. The only thing i did was Open LR -> Take a quick look at the pictures in my current collection/folder -> Quit LR -> Open LR -> asoasf... Just like i said, three out of four times everything works fine but eventually LR starts to stumble and messes up my view-settings.
Photo of Russell Cardwell

Russell Cardwell

  • 39 Posts
  • 17 Reply Likes
Exactly the behavior I've noticed. But in my case, it's been happing since the 5.0 upgrade. So I've long considered it an unavoidable inconvenience.
Photo of Jerry Syder

Jerry Syder

  • 181 Posts
  • 88 Reply Likes
I've also seen this. Sort by Capture time. Close and re-open Lightroom and it's referred to Added Order. This has been happening for at least a year now, can't really recall how many versions ago. I've now gotten in the habit of checking everytime I open a Lightroom Catalogie.