Issue: HDR Merge kicks you out of a custom Library View

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 months ago
At my job I have to auto-merge tons of HDR photos. I love that I can auto-stack by capture time, then select them all and merge HDR in the background... While they are merging in the background I would love to work on this or other shoots, but every single time Lightroom saves out an HDR merge it kicks me out of the current Library Filter view I am in.

For example, right now I am merging about 80 HDR images. I am trying to work on another project where I need to edit Green labeled files only, but every single time the other project saves out an HDR I am kicked out of the Green view and lose my place. This happens to me every day at my job and I can't think of any work-around... I understand you want people to see the HDR when it's saved, but perhaps that should be a setting for beginners. Someone like me who does this for a living needs to run big processes in the background and get going on other projects while it runs. Many times I have to use filters for color or star ratings, and booting me out of that view really becomes an issue. I use Classic, but I bet CC does the same thing as well.
Photo of Andy Lassiter

Andy Lassiter

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • annoyed

Posted 7 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 2897 Posts
  • 1246 Reply Likes
I haven’t tried this, but does it also work like that if you choose another collection to work in? In other words: you setup the HDR merge in a collection called ‘HDR’ and then you switch to another collection called ‘Green view’ to do the other work. If you keep working in the same collection/folder as where the merge takes place, then it makes sense that filters are reset when a new image (a new HDR) is added. But when you have switched to another location that should not happen.
Photo of Andy Lassiter

Andy Lassiter

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Smart idea, Johan! I would never had thought of that... Of course it's not a fix, but it does seem to be a good workaround. I just tested it and your assumption was correct, a new HDR merge does not change your view if you are in a collection.

It is not ideal, but I suppose I can create temporary Collections (like Green, Blue) with the files I need from one project, then run the batch process and it won't be an issue. Then I can just delete those collections when I am done... Thanks for the idea!