Creative Cloud Installer is deleting old versions without notice or permission

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • (Edited)
I was very alarmed to discover that the new installer removed my previous versions of Photoshop (and other CC applications) without notification or permission.

Deleting older versions may be the preferred method for many users, but erasing content without permission of the user is appalling. It is not the same behavior as updating, or installing a new version. Is this a bug? If not, there is a serious issue when your installer behave in a fashion indistinguishable from a bug or, worse, malware.

This should be addressed as soon as possible. A warning and option not to delete are critical.
Photo of Gregory Katsoulis

Gregory Katsoulis

  • 54 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
  • deeply concerned

Posted 3 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Gregory Katsoulis

Gregory Katsoulis

  • 54 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Still cannot determine if this is bug, or bad design. Would like to hear from Adobe.
Photo of Gregory Katsoulis

Gregory Katsoulis

  • 54 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
With the number of bugs I am finding with regard to the healing brush and display errors, I feel it is critical that Adobe allow users to keep their previous versions by default. How can we make this happen?
Photo of Gregory Katsoulis

Gregory Katsoulis

  • 54 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
I'm not sure if this is lost in the shuffle, or facing a deafening silence. Again, a warning and option not to delete are critical. Having the updater function in a way that is indistinguishable from malware is highly problematic.
Photo of Gregory Katsoulis

Gregory Katsoulis

  • 54 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Still no response on this fairly serious issue?
Photo of Gregory Katsoulis

Gregory Katsoulis

  • 54 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
More than a month has passed and there is no response on this. I would like to hear some word about how this happened and if it will be fixed.
Photo of Steve Sprengel

Steve Sprengel, Champion

  • 2613 Posts
  • 333 Reply Likes
The option to not delete old versions is in the Advanced settings during the install, which is too obscure for a lot of people.
Photo of Gregory Katsoulis

Gregory Katsoulis

  • 54 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Obscure and introduced without notice. There was no reasonable or logical way a user could expect this upgrade to function in such a catastrophically different way than all previous updates. There isn't even a warning box when proceeding. Hiding it under the advanced menu was a bizarre choice.

All of this is made uglier by the fact that the solution to every problem I've reported to Adobe these last few months, is for me to a previous version of the software.

Deleting items from a drive without permission from the user is the realm of malware, not professional software. Again, as I said above, this needs to be changed with the next update.