This conversation has been merged. Please reference the main conversation: Lightroom Classic: Before after comparison of metadata conflicts
I am constantly confronted with the little exclamation point icon that tells me that metadata has been changed. (Theoretically by another application, but usually no other application has been involved. Lightroom has simply lost track.)
Unfortunately, all the choices are blind.
- Blindly overwrite the metadata with different metadata Lightroom has found on the disk.
- Blindly overwrite the metadata on the disk with different metadata lightroom has found.
- Or ignore this notice and hope it goes away.
There is no way to know what metadata has been changed. Is it EXIF data or is it develop settings? Which set of data is newest? There's no way to know.
Long ago, I learned the hard way not to click the button. I ignore it unless I absolutely need to resolve it. At that point the only way to resolve it is to create a virtual copy, update the original, and compare.
Why not add a preview feature, or better a way to compare the two versions side by side? It would save a lot of time.