Lightroom: How to make publish forget about photos published to Flickr?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • (Edited)
After I publish an image to Flickr using Lightroom I don't want Lightroom to ever update or delete it. How do I prevent Lightroom from tracking photos I've published?

I'm using LR 3 on Win8 PC
Photo of Jon Unohu

Jon Unohu

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Rob Cole

Rob Cole

  • 4831 Posts
  • 372 Reply Likes
You'll need to use a publishing service interface (plugin) that supports specifying which types of changes warrant re-publishing, for example Jeffrey Friedl's (dunno if Adobe's supports it). Then, set it up so that "none" (no changes) will be cause for republishing. Once you've done that, just don't remove published photos from published collection, and they'll never be removed from Flickr.

To be clear: there is usually no way to convince a publishing service to forget about published photos - memory of published photos is what publish services do.. If you don't want such memory, then you should be exporting instead of publishing.
Photo of John R. Ellis

John R. Ellis, Champion

  • 3379 Posts
  • 853 Reply Likes
After publishing to Flickr, you can right-click the publish collection in the left-hand pane and select Delete. You'll be asked if you want to leave the pics on Flickr or not:


This has the same effect as simply exporting the pics, but unfortunately, the built-in LR publish service for Flickr doesn't support simple export. However, as Rob suggested, you could check out Friedl's Flickr export/publish plugin, which gives you much more control:

http://regex.info/blog/lightroom-good...