Photoshop Elements: Frozen Marching Ants

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 7 years ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
A selection of marching ants behaves normally, but after a while the marching ants stop marching - yet the selection remains activated and can be treated as normal
Photo of Nielen Schaefer

Nielen Schaefer

  • 29 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 14149 Posts
  • 1765 Reply Likes
What OS/version are you on? What product/version are you using? Photoshop CS5? Photoshop Elements 10?

If it's either of the above, I'd bet the problem is an outdated video card driver.

Determine what video card you have and go directly to the manufacturers website (nVidia or ATI/AMD) and download the latest driver. GPU and OpenGL support | Photoshop CS4, CS5: http://adobe.ly/OpenGL
Photo of Nielen Schaefer

Nielen Schaefer

  • 29 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Thanks Jeffrey Tranberry; I have updated my original Radeon x300, 256MB video card for a modern GeForce 1024MB card. The problem of the frozen ants seems to have been solved.
Photo of Nielen Schaefer

Nielen Schaefer

  • 29 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Hi, I have three problems with Elements 9, loaded into Windows XP. (I previously used Elements 6 for seven years, and in all that time had no problems at all)!

1. When I make a selection - with the Magic Wand or any other selection tool - the marching ants move in the normal, very visible way, but then, after variable times, they suddenly freeze up. The area within the selection however can still be manipulated as per usual. Jeffery Tranberry, who replied to my first query some days ago, suggested that I needed to upgrade my graphics card, which I have now done (Radeon x300 replaced with a new Nvidia GeForce 520 GT) but the problem remains!

2. When I open the Type Tool, and then scroll down the list of fonts, the list flickers annoyingly with horizontal white patches. When I stop scrolling the list stabilizes. (I was hoping the new graphics card would solve this problem but it hasn't).

3. When a photograph is first loaded into the Editor Workspace, it lies under any floating palettes that might be present (eg Undo History, Layers, etc) which is the way it should be because the palettes then continue to be useable. But then, for no reason that I can analyze, the situation suddenly changes with the photograph showing over the palette, hides it from further easy use.

HELP

This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled
Photoshop Elements 9: Problems times Three.
Photo of Nielen Schaefer

Nielen Schaefer

  • 29 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Hi Jeffrey Tranberry,

Thanks for your continued interest in my Elements 9 problems.
You requested that I save my Elements 9 System Info, as well as a screen shot of my problem 'number 3' (photograph overlying and hiding floating palettes).
I have done this (saved now as Word Documents on my Desktop).

How do I mail them to you?
Via the address: noreply.photoshop_family@getsatisfact...
Or, do you have a direct email address.
Or, do I (somehow) post them via this web site - you will need to tell me how to do this.

Go well
Nielen
Photo of PECourtejoie

PECourtejoie, Champion

  • 792 Posts
  • 284 Reply Likes
Nielen, most noreply email addresses are not watched. You can post your system info here, but omit the serial number.
Photo of Nielen Schaefer

Nielen Schaefer

  • 29 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Thanks for your emailed reply (same wording as above).

Apologies for my IT ignorance, but I don't know how to "post" my documents "here".
I have three separate Word documents on my Desktop that I want to send you (one the system-info and two of screen-shots). If I COPY one of them, and then try to PASTE it on this Photoshop-Family page - or into your email page - I cannot do so (there is no PASTE option visible).
And what is a Serial Number?

Where to from here? (!)
Nielen
Photo of Jeffrey Tranberry

Jeffrey Tranberry, Sr. Product Manager, Digital Imaging

  • 14134 Posts
  • 1763 Reply Likes
Hi Nielen, I sent you an email with directions on how to email me. Let me know if you got it and replied. Sometimes attachments get hung in SPAM.
Photo of Nielen Schaefer

Nielen Schaefer

  • 29 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Hi Jeffrey

Yes I did receive your contact email address, thank you.

My reply was posted 27 January, and included three attachments:
System information of my computer.
Screen-shot of the Polygonal tool.
Screen-shot of a photograph overlying floating palettes.

Looking forward to your professional comments
sincerely
Nielen