Lightroom: Flag and star rating filters removed from Shared Albums

  • 9
  • Question
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
  • (Edited)
"To support forthcoming improvements in sharing and collaboration, beginning with the August 2019 release of Lightroom, the ability to use flag and star ratings to hide photos in shared albums has been removed."

https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-cc/kb/display-filters-removed.html
https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom-cc/using/whats-new/2019-4.html#whats-changed


Could someone please provide additional details on these "forthcoming improvements in sharing and collaboration"? (and their release dates).


Using flags and star ratings was very useful for automating the selection process for shared albums.
Without this feature, every time you revisit an album in your library that has been shared using the filters mentioned above, if you change the star rating or flags of photos with the objective of sharing or unsharing them you have to remember to manually select those photos and update your shared album (not practical nor scalable when many photos are changed).

Why? Oh why remove this great feature?
I wish at least Adobe could have waited until the replacement feature was available...



Photo of Valencia

Valencia

  • 18 Posts
  • 6 Reply Likes
  • disappointed

Posted 2 months ago

  • 9
Photo of Rick Proctor

Rick Proctor

  • 2 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
Use this feature daily and the alternative of manually updating albums seems cumbersome and will disrupt my workflow. Please reverse this change.
(Edited)
Photo of Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly

  • 1 Post
  • 3 Reply Likes
The ability to share only picked photos has been critical to my workflow. The requirement to create extra albums is only going to slow things down.
Photo of Miles Carter

Miles Carter

  • 1 Post
  • 2 Reply Likes
Agree - this is one of the most useful features of Lightroom that I use all of the time. Why remove it?
Photo of J M

J M

  • 1 Post
  • 1 Reply Like
This was a fantastic feature - by far the easiest way to share many photos from mobile quickly with clients immediately following shoots (and friends/family). The dynamic nature was core - change a flag/rating = change visibility.  Please consider reinstating this feature. 
Photo of Michael Holzbauer

Michael Holzbauer

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I only recently began using Adobe's share features and the reason was at least partly because I could use this flag/rating feature to show/hide photos with clients.  Removing this feature significantly limits my workflow with clients, especially when I'm pressed for time.  Please bring this feature back!