Feature Request: sync files in local drive

  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Implemented
I often upload images from a local folder. It would be great if this folder could be kept in sync with the cloud-based files that I'm editing. So if I mark files as rejected, this information is tethered to the local catalog as well. If I delete rejected photos, then the local copies would sync to be deleted as well (same as dropbox or other cloud storage). Lastly, it would be great if I could enable/disable cloud access to specific folders/files. This way I can retain desktop edit capabilities for older projects, but keep them in the same (desktop) Lightroom experience as my active projects that I sync to the cloud.
Photo of Josh

Josh

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • disappointed

Posted 3 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Josh

Josh

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Never mind, I just figured out how to do this with the existing software. It's not obvious, so I'd like to share what I did in case anyone else is struggling to do this too.
  1. Sign into Lightroom CC on your mobile device or tablet.
  2. Sign into Lightroom Classic on your computer.
  3. In Lightroom Classic, click on the dropdown menu in the upper left of the menu bar (next to the "Lr" logo). I think this is always your name.
  4. Select "Sync with Lighroom CC" to enable syncing. Obviously sign in if you weren't able to do that before clicking here.
  5. Import your photos into Lightroom Classic.
  6. Create a collection (or collection set) for the photos you just imported.
  7. Add the photos from the "Folders" section to the collection you just created. You can just drag the whole folder of photos onto the collection in the left-side menu to do all of the photos.
  8. Check the box on the left side of the collection to sync the photos and their settings.
  9. Edit on desktop, mobile, or tablet and enjoy having all of your changes synced throughout.
  10. If you want to delete rejected photos and have the files removed as well, you need to edit them and delete them in Lightroom Classic from the "Folders" section, not the collection.
  11. Uncheck a box if you want to remove it from your cloud storage. You can even delete the collection if you're done editing it like this.
Hope this helps. This seems like a REALLY useful tool for Lightroom users. So thank you Adobe for make it work like this. It wasn't entirely intuitive to figure out though, so maybe some communication or UX work needs to be considered to help people discover this feature.