Lightroom Desktop: Every time I import I have to restart and lightroom 'moves' my photos.

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
  • (Edited)
Every time I import photos, I"m told I have to restart to get rid of the red exclamation mark on my imports because they "need to be moved". I store originals on an external so I understand the need for lightroom to copy over originals when the external is connected, but why is it bothering me to restart. And when I do, I'm unable to do anything until this process is finished.
Photo of Nathanael Montgomery

Nathanael Montgomery

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • Frustrated

Posted 3 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Nathanael Montgomery

Nathanael Montgomery

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Additionally, even after this process is finished, I'm still getting the same error on the images. I then restart and lightroom seemingly is moving an entirely different set of photos (as the number of photos seems to change every time this moving process is going on)
(Edited)
Photo of Nathanael Montgomery

Nathanael Montgomery

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Now, after I'm finished this process, my recently imported photos are simply disappearing. Is this seriously how shit adobe has gotten? 
Photo of Rikk Flohr

Rikk Flohr, Official Rep

  • 7541 Posts
  • 1729 Reply Likes
Nathanael,

We need more information in order to start to diagnose your issue. 

OS?
Version Number?
Lightroom Version Number?
External Drive type?
Connection for drive?
Power Settings for computer?

Reply back with this information and we will try to figure out what is needed to correct your system's operation. 
Photo of Nathanael Montgomery

Nathanael Montgomery

  • 11 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
OS: MacOS 10.15.4
Lightroom version: 3.3
External drive: Samsung T5 1Gb SSD
Connection type: USB C to USB C
Don't know what you mean by power settings for the computer. It's a 2017 15" Macbook Pro 2.8Ghz i7
Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 5655 Posts
  • 2260 Reply Likes
It sounds like the drive might be getting a new mount point might be changing, so Lightroom's seeing it as a new drive. What shows up in Preferences > Local Storage as the originals storage location?