Does deleting locally stored photos in Lightroom Classic also delete them from the cloud ?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 week ago
I've migrated to CC and all the photos I want are stored in the cloud. I have a 50GB chunk of Lightroom Classic catalogue that I want to delete to free up space on my hard drive. Can I delete the locally stored photos without that also deleting them from the cloud ? 
Photo of Stephen Sanders

Stephen Sanders

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Carlos Cardona

Carlos Cardona

  • 351 Posts
  • 76 Reply Likes
Only if you logout first from Classic (Help menu). But are you SURE that you trust that Adobe will NEVER go under, and delete all your stuff? That it's IMPOSSIBLE for their servers to die from a fire or earthquake? I'm not! Storage is ultra cheap, if you don't want to lose your precious photos spend $49 X 2 for 2 OWC Express 1 TB drives from macsales.com (or wherever you shop for tech, Best Buy, etc.) and put your 50GB of photos and all your catalogs on both drives, and update them with any new photos monthly. Keep one offsite, like in your office.
Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 1715 Posts
  • 704 Reply Likes
Yes, after you have migrated the catalog to Lightroom CC, then you can delete the Lightroom Classic catalog and the local images with that catalog.
Photo of Steve Gandy

Steve Gandy

  • 110 Posts
  • 36 Reply Likes
Johan, shouldn't he make sure he as turned off the syncing feature in Classic first?
Photo of Jim Wilde

Jim Wilde, Champion

  • 332 Posts
  • 120 Reply Likes
It won't matter if the synced catalog has been deleted. Subsequently creating and syncing a new catalog would have no effect on the existing cloud images (apart from the fact that they'd automatically download into the new catalog).
Photo of Arjun Haarith

Arjun Haarith, Employee

  • 95 Posts
  • 24 Reply Likes
If you delete the images from within the catalog , make sure the sync is Off / Disabled, else it will sync back and remove the images from Cloud as well.



Photo of Johan Elzenga

Johan Elzenga, Champion

  • 1715 Posts
  • 704 Reply Likes
If you migrate a Lightroom Classic catalog to Lightroom CC, then the idea is that you do not use Lightroom Classic anymore at all after that migration. In that case you can delete the Lightroom Classic catalog and its images.

If you do keep using Lightroom Classic however, then you should indeed not delete images from Lightroom Classic while sync in on, because that will delete them from the cloud as well.
Photo of Christian Lambert

Christian Lambert

  • 9 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
What would be the proper workflow if someone need occasional use of Lightroom classic while a catalog has been migrated to CC?    

I would want to avoid re-dowloading all the originals on my laptop if I need to work on a few images or a specific shoot that requires classic.  

Do you recommend setting up a new catalog and not connecting it to the cloud, and then "save as" the images from CC with originals+settings (XMP file) and import those manually into the classic catalog?  

My plan is to have an external drive that I connect to my laptop once in a while that will backup all my originals from CC (as CC has this option to store originals).  Or redirect that to a volume on my NAS. 


Photo of Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen

Victoria Bampton - Lightroom Queen, Champion

  • 4672 Posts
  • 1796 Reply Likes
> Do you recommend setting up a new catalog and not connecting it to the cloud, and then "save as" the images from CC with originals+settings (XMP file) and import those manually into the classic catalog?  

That's the cleanest solution, yes. You're basically using Classic like an external editor.